Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2002, 09:48 AM
N-G-NEER N-G-NEER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Jacksonville Beach, USA
Posts: 545
Default PC\'s for 001

I am about to build yet another system for a 001 system.
I need some serious answers as to what the best MBO's and CPU's are for the DIGI 001. nothing else will be used on this machine but it will be used in a professional environment and I can't aford to play games with MBO that can't handle it if you look at them throu your left eye and such. So folks what's the deal P4? AMD? Asus? Gigabyte? AMD? INTEL? Please make some suggestions.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2002, 11:26 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

Try the PC forum pard'ner. This here forum is for mac folk.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2002, 02:18 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

But to give you an answer from this forum, well there's these nice Apple units(they are afterall personal computers), G-4/933Mhz, crazy fast throughput (approx 1.5x that of a pentium 4 or athalon), comes with DVD/CD-R and RW burning capabilites, and well, Protools is native to the mac, and adapted to windows.....

Just my 2 cents worth...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2002, 04:02 PM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

where02190 wrote:

"G-4/933Mhz, crazy fast throughput (approx 1.5x that of a pentium 4 or athalon)"

Hmmm, not sure I believe that. Anyway, head over to the windows forum and do a search for "davec" test or "PT performance" and you'll find all the info you'll need regarding which components work best.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2002, 06:15 PM
lukemaniak lukemaniak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 230
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

The Best machine for 001? Apple Macintosh G4. Im proud to tell ya.
BTW, whats Intel? Amd? etc..? [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
- e.l -
ps: btw...sorry for my english.
;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2002, 06:42 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

Quote:
Originally posted by who:
where02190 wrote:

"G-4/933Mhz, crazy fast throughput (approx 1.5x that of a pentium 4 or athalon)"

Hmmm, not sure I believe that. Anyway, head over to the windows forum and do a search for "davec" test or "PT performance" and you'll find all the info you'll need regarding which components work best.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">that was from an article in PC magazine about 6 months ago.
I've done the davec test, my G-4 did excellent (see the test results on this forum), and I've been working in PT on both mac and pc platforms for years, I'll take the mac, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2002, 07:12 PM
billbo billbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: manhattan,ks, usa
Posts: 574
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

The only possible reason I could see for using a PC for 001/AMIII/MBox... would stem from being on a extremely tight budget.

While the Wintel world does have the cost aspect to it, the Mac may cost a small fortune, but the small following of Mac devotee's swear by 'em (anybody here will too) and IMHO, you're shooting yourself in the foot by piecing together a PC (I understand the theory behind it BTW).

There will always be the "next greatest plug-in" for Pro Tools on the MAC before it's ported to PC. Period
__________________
bill hughes-
I made a conscience decision in a semi-conscious state
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2002, 12:36 AM
eddybertrand eddybertrand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: miami fl usa
Posts: 161
Default Re: PC\'s for 001

you've knocked the wrong door.
Go "Pro Tools LE for Windows - Digi 001 - ToolBox
" forum
__________________
eddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone have experience with these pc's? skwad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-25-2006 02:03 AM
We will All Be using PC's ????? roberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-06-2005 02:23 PM
Those PC's.... petter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-21-2005 05:43 AM
2 PC's & 2 Mbox's WaDa TanK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-16-2005 07:38 AM
PC's for 001 N-G-NEER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-04-2002 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com