Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2021, 11:51 AM
TheBarnOnMaple TheBarnOnMaple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default S1 Track Color Keys Issue

I'm wondering if this is a known issue across all S1 units or just my own. Certain color selections in Pro Tools (Dark Red, Dark Green, Dark Pink) seem to not show up at all not the track color keys on the S1 and yellow seems to illuminate more like green. Just looking for any input/suggestions.

Thanks a lot!
Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2021, 02:50 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,724
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

Same here. Dark red / brown looks like a track with no colour at all. Yellow is green. I guess the LEDs just can't display the whole colour space so you don't see a difference between black, brown and any of the dark colours.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2021, 08:16 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,967
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

The keys can display it. They used to look just fine. Yellow was yellow. Dark colours were easy to tell apart. (It's not a hardware limitation)

But then Eucontrol changed its channel strip look (darker strip with only the track label area matching the colour in Pro Tools) and now they don't work well for dark colours. And that yellow is messed up to green (because it is trying to do some weird "dark" yellow.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2021, 10:15 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

The S1 hardware colors are completely independent from the Control App. Make sure you have the brightness setting on ALL tablets turned up fully, both in the Control App and the tablet settings. For the Fire tablets you need to turn off adaptive brightness, otherwise it's too dim. This is my iPad on the left and Fire on the right, PT below. To match PT in every way we would have to implement the same color and brightness sliders PT has. We went for the middle ground.
The S1 RGB LED's are hard to get right, to make them better the button plastic would have to be more diffused but that just makes them dimmer. I'll see what we can do to improve them though, but as you turn the brightness up the things change...the yellow becomes worse for example. Ideally these would need a brightness slider too. Someone in a dark studio doing post work would not want them any brighter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20211206_093309.jpg (65.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2021, 09:55 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,724
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

Hm...how do you control the brightness of the S1 colour keys? My surface brightness control sliders are all greyed out as they only work for the Dock and Artist LCD.
Also: What's the colour setting in the S1 colour key hotkey setting for? Somehow I can only get them to display the track colour but not the one I've set for the hotkey.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2021, 10:09 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Hm...how do you control the brightness of the S1 colour keys? My surface brightness control sliders are all greyed out as they only work for the Dock and Artist LCD.
Also: What's the colour setting in the S1 colour key hotkey setting for? Somehow I can only get them to display the track colour but not the one I've set for the hotkey.
There is no setting currently...I said I'll see what I can do ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2021, 11:41 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,724
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

Ah right, I misunderstood. Very sorry.

Thanks Eddie!
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2021, 01:10 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

Same here. Even the Green LED's for standard Aux tracks basically look like they are turned off. And I keep my studio fairly dark while working.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1165.jpg (57.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1166.jpg (61.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1167.jpg (50.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1168.jpg (51.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2022, 12:23 PM
rogerwilco2000 rogerwilco2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: city and/or country
Posts: 22
Default Re: S1 Track Color Keys Issue

Found this thread looking to see why my S1 wasn't displaying certain colors on the soft keys. Same here, all the dark colors disappear. My guess it's because the leds are displaying "darker" color as "less bright." If I cup my hand around a key I can barely make out the same shade of, say, red as when a lighter shade is selected. I suppose they're not full RGB?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with Track Color in Edit Window robinbjerke macOS 8 05-25-2018 06:22 AM
Avid Artist Soft keys changing color Tim Ripley Artist Series 2 07-01-2016 05:38 AM
Weird track color issue with groups Thumper1040 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-07-2011 07:20 AM
LE v7.4-Color Palette & Track Color Coding Vbhalla Tips & Tricks 4 01-02-2008 04:13 PM
Control+Option+Command/ Color palate track color KingFish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-28-2007 08:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com