Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2006, 10:22 PM
bb_aus bb_aus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,689
Default New Time Shift plug-in

new time shift plug-in that will be TCE tool in future versions.
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...942&ref=time-f
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:01 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

Quote:
new time shift plug-in that will be TCE tool in future versions.
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...942&ref=time-f
Wow! Digi, I'm impressed. You gave us Formant-correct processing and formant shifting!!! I hope to see this taken to another level in the future and implemented in real time right on a track.

We also got Varispeed! Well done!

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2006, 06:50 AM
rlcowa@work2 rlcowa@work2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA USA
Posts: 207
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

Is it just me or what? I mean Digi is starting to really catch-up in the included (IOW free) plug-in department, at least as compared to my other favorite DAW tool Logic. Digi just keeps getting better and better!! Two new free plug-ins is in as many weeks (least that's when I found them) is amazing. Are there more goodies inthe pipeline? I'd like to see Vocalign in my toolkit someday. I get my 002 Factory with MPT next week so I am like WAY thrilled! Thanks Digi!!! Keep up the excellent work! Blessings, R

UPDATE: There is a note in the documentation that this new plug does not work with Version 7.0 or 7.1!!! What is up with that??? What's the point? Does it work with earlier versions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:57 PM
WilliamDC WilliamDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 297
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

Quote:

UPDATE: There is a note in the documentation that this new plug does not work with Version 7.0 or 7.1!!! What is up with that??? What's the point? Does it work with earlier versions?

Doh, I take back my previous statement. I misread the article.
__________________
William
002R - 2ghz Intel Core 2 duo Imac - 3GB of RAM
OSX 10.6.7 - PT LE 8.0.5
http://www.pureshift.com
http://www.bsodmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:14 PM
halfguard halfguard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: fl
Posts: 610
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

ok, now im confused, does it work with 7.0 ???????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:50 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

Yeah, and here's the other thing I noticed: The Mac version is twice as big of a download than the Windows version. To ME, that means that there's probably more, and better funtions, presets, etc... on te Mac version.

Why the difference? Are Mac people getting a better free plug-in than us Windows users?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
Head Audio/A1 - Blue Man Group North American Tour
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:52 PM
Kurdt Kurdt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 116
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

Go to the same link listed above and click on the Features Tab at the top of the page.

7.0 is supported, just that the TC/E Trim Tool and AudioSuite Preview feature only work currently for 7.2 HD systems and will be supported for LE and M-Powered in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:17 PM
Jenre Jenre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 201
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

Quote:
Yeah, and here's the other thing I noticed: The Mac version is twice as big of a download than the Windows version. To ME, that means that there's probably more, and better funtions, presets, etc... on te Mac version.

Why the difference? Are Mac people getting a better free plug-in than us Windows users?
Do you get more of a song with a wav than an mp3? no. different formats different sizes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:42 PM
froyo froyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,864
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

By Jenre
Quote:
Do you get more of a song with a wav than an mp3? no. different formats different sizes.
Hello. Actually you do get more with a .wav than an .mp3. A lot more. A .wav or .aif file is uncompressed audio, an .mp3 falls under the category known as 'lossy' compression. The term lossy comes from the fact that in order to reduce the file size a lot of information has to be lost. As in lost, thrown away, gone forever. They use some techniques that analyze the frequency content of the audio and throw away some of the stuff that is lower in amplitude than others.

That's a broad simplification. But do be sure that you do in fact lose a lot and it is not the same song. Not even close. Try this, grab a CD of a Beethoven's 9th Symphony or Vivaldi's Four Seasons or Carl Orff's Carmina Burana. Something with a large frequency range (very high highs, very low lows, etc) and a wide dynamic range (very loud louds, very soft softs, etc). Listen to it. Do an MP3 of the same audio. Listen to that. You tell me if you don't actually lose something in the process.

I understand you may have meant that you don't get a different mix of the song, or that one song is longer than the other, etc. It's the same mix. But I did want to clarify that you do in fact lose quite a bit in the process, you do actually get more with a .wav or an .aif than an .mp3.
__________________
froyo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:07 PM
puremusic puremusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 149
Default Re: New Time Shift plug-in

But you don´t loose the violin section beacuse of that. The whole orchestra is still there.
If you get my point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is New Time Shift Plug-in xxfunkxx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2007 08:06 AM
Explanation for FORMANT shift in Time Shift Plug In, please! Darney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2007 11:00 AM
help with time shift plug in tonedef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-22-2007 09:22 AM
time shift plug-in haroldmarkjordan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-10-2006 06:39 AM
time shift plug-in CalebB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-28-2006 03:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com