Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2022, 03:36 PM
jpbm22 jpbm22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
Default Can't select midi notes after trimming midi clip

I do a lot of midi editing and for some reason if I trim a midi clip in shuffle mode, any notes past the newly created edit point are no longer selectable. I can't grab them with the mouse, I can't tab to them with the arrow keys. If I consolidate the midi clip, then I can select the notes I previously couldn't. But anytime I make an edit in a midi clip, things seem to get messed up after the edit point.

This is behavior I have not seen in earlier versions of protools. I am using Protools studio 2022.7 on a MacBook Pro running os monetary 12.5. This weird behavior happens whether I am in the midi editor mode or when I'm not in the midi editor. Is this happening to anyone else?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2022, 07:31 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: Can't select midi notes after trimming midi clip

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpbm22 View Post
I do a lot of midi editing and for some reason if I trim a midi clip in shuffle mode, any notes past the newly created edit point are no longer selectable. I can't grab them with the mouse, I can't tab to them with the arrow keys. If I consolidate the midi clip, then I can select the notes I previously couldn't. But anytime I make an edit in a midi clip, things seem to get messed up after the edit point.

This is behavior I have not seen in earlier versions of protools. I am using Protools studio 2022.7 on a MacBook Pro running os monetary 12.5. This weird behavior happens whether I am in the midi editor mode or when I'm not in the midi editor. Is this happening to anyone else?
This is a known bug. There are quite a few posts about this. The workaround is to switch to sample mode as opposed to tick. That should enable you to edit your midi. Hopefully, this gets fixed soon.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2022, 04:53 PM
jpbm22 jpbm22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't select midi notes after trimming midi clip

Thanks for reply. Good to know there is a work around for the time being. Hopefully Avid will fix this bug soon. It's hard to edit midi notes when the notes can't even be selected!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trimming regions around Midi notes hxcdelivery Pro Tools 1 07-02-2021 09:11 AM
MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2 midnightrambler Pro Tools 12 13 11-28-2017 09:33 AM
mass select of notes in midi editor stainless MIDI 4 08-20-2010 09:00 PM
MIDI Select/Split Notes - Assertion in PT8 gonzolagonda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-18-2009 06:34 AM
MIDI "Select notes" tool problem GeneOuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 04-27-2005 01:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com