Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 08-22-2022, 01:07 PM
DataStar DataStar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: São Paulo/Brasil
Posts: 6
Default Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection BUG 2022.6

This is absurd!

Well, after three months of "support" and everyone (of support) telling me that the problem was with my machines, with my system, (Yes, avid made me buy a new machine after making me believe it, upload and reinstall more than 6 different systems for testing and nothings change the bugs), send your system report, make new user account admin, delete preferences, reinstall, try this, try that... and my deadlines running.
After try in 3 different machines and I found out that it was resolved when I installed 2022.5 - they were left speechless. But they didn't recognize the error, let's investigate, be happy!
Only after creating a bug list with more than 40 people involved did they listen to me and after I start publishing my unworthiness in the networks…

Avid e-mail response:
"Thank you for your response and sorry for the inconvenience.

Since this is a confirmed bug that has been logged on our end. Here are the bug number for reference: PT-289553 and PTSW-196673.
and there is also no ETA (estimated time of arrival) on when it will be fixed. The standard procedure is to close the case, but reopen the case if you need an update. If the case is unable to be reopened, feel free to reach out to us through the following channels:"

When I reply ask for this details:

"Thank you for your response and sorry for the inconvenience.

PT-289553 is about MIDI notes that can no longer be selected or edited
PTSW-196673. is about nudging

In the meantime, while waiting for the fixes,
the workaround is to install PT2022.5."

But in attach you can see 2 bugs > that they only recognized 2 bugs out of 15 or more... for you to have an idea the previous email sent me a link with "gifts" from the inner circle that I had… just for “almost” told me: "calm down we have gifts do not get angry".
I just want a software that works without problems and a software reliable. I pay for it. All we pay for it and we use this software all day… Being treated like “I'm the problem” I think is a veiled lack of respect. I'm not a new avid user, over 10 years. I'm not happy at all. I see other companies as good as treating customers much better. Avid support just made me waste my time and money. it’s really bad and at the same time ridiculous. I'm sure that when they implemented the “quantize function with follow grid” they erased some code line. All they should do is say thanks and fix the bug that wasn't in the previous version and ask the great team at GlobalLogic to put someone to oversee this problem. I'm sure it will make the tens of dollars we spend every year worth a lot. . It's been months with one-legged software or call me at least to be a beta tester, since I'm paid to be anyway.


All the best, guys!

Thanks for the space.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-09-2022, 08:06 AM
strawb strawb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: minneapolis
Posts: 81
Default Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6

push this PT update already
we're stranded out in the water here with shoddy midi editing capabilities.
(in a professional recording studio, with the artist standing behind me)
not a great look.

come on already avid fix the midi bug..
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-09-2022, 10:30 AM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 384
Default Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by strawb View Post
push this PT update already
we're stranded out in the water here with shoddy midi editing capabilities.
(in a professional recording studio, with the artist standing behind me)
not a great look.

come on already avid fix the midi bug..
Agreed, but the "Change the affected Track to Samples instead of Ticks" hack DOES seem to work (for me, a few times this week), so try that in the interim.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 09-11-2022, 04:37 PM
DataStar DataStar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: São Paulo/Brasil
Posts: 6
Default Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Agreed, but the "Change the affected Track to Samples instead of Ticks" hack DOES seem to work (for me, a few times this week), so try that in the interim.
Great! This solve the problem momentarily, thanks for the tip. 2022.7 is much more faster than 2022.5 although it has the midi bug problem
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 09-13-2022, 06:59 AM
andresix andresix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 4
Default Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6

Changing the MIDI track to samples solved it for me as well, the only solution so far save for going back to .5.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09-13-2022, 07:45 AM
strawb strawb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: minneapolis
Posts: 81
Default Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Agreed, but the "Change the affected Track to Samples instead of Ticks" hack DOES seem to work (for me, a few times this week), so try that in the interim.
nice one! thanks
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-18-2022, 12:08 PM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 477
Default Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]

Got an answer from Avid Customer Care:

”I have associated your case with the following bug already (PT-290381). As the root cause has been identified and the resolution has been provided, this case will now be closed. Please bear with us until the fix gets released within the future releases of Pro Tools.”

I hope this is useful information (might be yesterdays news) - I searched this thread for (PT-290381) without finding anything.
__________________

PT Ultimate 2022.4.0 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2022.4.0.78 | PT Control 2022.4.0.60
macOS Big Sur 11.6.5 | Mac Pro (2019), 3,2 GHz 16-Core Intel Xeon W, 384 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-25-2022, 02:54 PM
jcoutu1 jcoutu1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]

This is absolutely bananas that this is a problem. Maybe it's time to finally become a Logic power user and leave PT in the dust...
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-28-2022, 01:07 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 589
Default Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]

According to the release notes on 2022.9 the midi issue is fixed. Will be downloading soon.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 09-28-2022, 01:12 PM
jcoutu1 jcoutu1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
According to the release notes on 2022.9 the midi issue is fixed. Will be downloading soon.
I just saw. Killer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't select midi notes after trimming midi clip jpbm22 Pro Tools 2 08-28-2022 04:53 PM
Quantizing is muting midi notes rickbail Pro Tools 12 3 10-09-2018 06:47 AM
mass select of notes in midi editor stainless MIDI 4 08-20-2010 09:00 PM
MIDI Select/Split Notes - Assertion in PT8 gonzolagonda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-18-2009 06:34 AM
MIDI "Select notes" tool problem GeneOuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 04-27-2005 01:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com