Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2011, 01:42 PM
bradliff bradliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8
Default Heavy CPU load with occasional error 6101

I'm running Pro Tools LE 8.0.1 with an Mbox 2 USB interface on a 2.1 Ghz Power PC G5 iMac with 2.5G of ram. I'm recording to a 7200 rpm external hard drive via Firewire 400 (the best the iMac G5 offers).

I've been trying to get this setup as stable as possible. I've recorded a few demos already and I occasionally get a 6101 (H/W buffer) error. I've already read through the General Troubleshooting page and done what seemed appropriate to my computer with regards to the system preferences and such.

I spent some time and went through my plug-ins (most of which came with the software or from Avid) and made sure there weren't any incompatibles or ones not up to date.

I just went back today to a previous session and recorded nothing to an extra midi track and did this with the Mac's Activity Monitor running to see how the CPU was doing. Pro Tools seems to eating A LOT of CPU... like in the upper 70-80%. Nothing else is running. I just want any help anyone can offer on how to get this down so Pro Tools is stable and I'm not hitting any 6101 errors while trying to track something.

I'm not running huge sessions either. I'm talking less than 10 tracks with just a few plug-ins going... I don't have the plug-ins active when I'm recording either.

Please help...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2011, 01:51 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Heavy CPU load with occasional error 6101

What's your Playback Engine set to? If you've got two processors, set it to 1 @ 99% CPU usage limit.

Any other info you can give us?
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2011, 03:41 PM
bradliff bradliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8
Default Re: Heavy CPU load with occasional error 6101

Well, I've had it set to 512 samples, but I've only got 1 processor and it will only let me go up to 85%.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2011, 03:46 PM
bradliff bradliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8
Default Re: Heavy CPU load with occasional error 6101

Plus I've reduced the number of undo's to 16 from 32 after I watched on a tutorial that it would help on processing/memory power or something.

I know the easy answer to this for a lot of you may be, "get a new computer with more processing power"... but if it's at all possible to make it more "stable" so I can make it work well now, while saving up for a new computer in the future, that'd be the best... so yeah...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error 6101 scotchflavio macOS 1 12-20-2012 02:09 PM
PT 10.2 6101 error. NEED HELP! Stijn Cole macOS 0 07-01-2012 03:27 AM
Heavy Distortion and -6085 error !? robbie123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-24-2012 04:24 AM
PT MP 9 6101 Error DR Music Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 11-12-2011 04:46 PM
Just another CPU, -6101 error... Seraplane macOS 3 02-25-2011 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com