Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2022, 02:21 PM
newcens newcens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

I am contemplating buying the new Mac Studio and it will be coming with the OS 13 Ventura. I just want to make sure it will be compatible with my Pro Tools 2022.6 OS. I have read that Avid hasn't yet acknowledged it's compatibility but I have read that some beta testing has shown that there are no issues. Does anyone have a definitive answer before I send a couple grand?
Thank you in advance,
Newcens
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2022, 02:30 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 564
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Quote:
Originally Posted by newcens View Post
I am contemplating buying the new Mac Studio and it will be coming with the OS 13 Ventura. I just want to make sure it will be compatible with my Pro Tools 2022.6 OS. I have read that Avid hasn't yet acknowledged it's compatibility but I have read that some beta testing has shown that there are no issues. Does anyone have a definitive answer before I send a couple grand?
Thank you in advance,
Newcens

You will be able to downgrade the Mac Studio to Monterey, since that's the OS that was current when it was released.


I don't know about Ventura compatibility, but just wanted to let you know that you should be safe either way.
__________________
* Macbook Air : M1 ~ 16gb ~ 1tb ~ Ventura latest
* Hackintosh : i9-9900k ~ 16gb ~ 3tb ~ Monterey 12.6.1
* PT 23.6 + Ableton Suite 11.3
* Soundtoys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* RME Fireface UCX II ~ Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2022, 04:02 PM
newcens newcens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Thank you. Any information is good information. So you can downgrade the Mac Studio to a older OS. That I didn't know.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2022, 06:17 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,524
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Quote:
Originally Posted by newcens View Post
Thank you. Any information is good information. So you can downgrade the Mac Studio to a older OS. That I didn't know.
Just to be clear, you can only downgrade back to the version of the OS that the model of the Mac was released with (not when you bought it, but when it was first made available for sale). You cannot downgrade to an OS older that that.

Having said that, I am running Protools Studio 2022.10 on a Mac Studio (M1Max) running Ventura (macOS 13) in a test system and have not had any OS related issues so far. You should consider upgrading Protools to the latest version as there are bug fixes and better compatibility with Apple Silicon (however, still running on Rosetta 2 instead of native).
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 13.6.6 running Protools 2024.3.1

Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 14.4.1 running Protools 2024.3.1

Last edited by Obsidian Dragon; 12-01-2022 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2022, 07:24 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,846
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Quote:
Originally Posted by newcens View Post
I am contemplating buying the new Mac Studio and it will be coming with the OS 13 Ventura. I just want to make sure it will be compatible with my Pro Tools 2022.6 OS. I have read that Avid hasn't yet acknowledged it's compatibility but I have read that some beta testing has shown that there are no issues. Does anyone have a definitive answer before I send a couple grand?
Thank you in advance,
Newcens
I just got my New Mac Studio after 10 years with the same Mac Pro Trash Can. What a difference. It was shipped with Monterey and after it arrived Ventura got released. I had a friend who got his and updated and he is running PT with not issues. I'm staying put for software like DADMAN which is stable on Monterey on 12.6.1.
My guess it is solid either way depending on your needs with your setup. Mine are in Dolby ATMOS here, so can't really risk any problems.
G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2024.3 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.6, DP 11.3.1, Logic Pro X 10.8.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2022, 01:37 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,591
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

This first thing I'd do with that new Mac is downgrade to the latest Monterey, then start installing. I know Ventura is working for people in many ways but I've seen a list of audio-related apps/plugins that do NOT work and it's enough to keep douse my urge to update. 12.6.1 has been rock solid so no reason to rock the boat anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2022, 04:52 AM
Blues Bird Blues Bird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 109
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
This first thing I'd do with that new Mac is downgrade to the latest Monterey, then start installing. I know Ventura is working for people in many ways but I've seen a list of audio-related apps/plugins that do NOT work and it's enough to keep douse my urge to update. 12.6.1 has been rock solid so no reason to rock the boat anyway.
How do you do that in detail?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2022, 05:13 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blues Bird View Post
How do you do that in detail?
In short; you must find and download a monterey installer (doesn't have to be the very latest, you can upgrade it later), and with that create a so-called 'USB installer' by writing the .dmg to a USB stick, drive, or partition - then you boot from it and install the OS on a drive or partition, erasing the drive in the process. People will correct me if I'm wrong or forgot something - but that's the basics.
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2022, 05:39 AM
Blues Bird Blues Bird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 109
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
In short; you must find and download a monterey installer (doesn't have to be the very latest, you can upgrade it later), and with that create a so-called 'USB installer' by writing the .dmg to a USB stick, drive, or partition - then you boot from it and install the OS on a drive or partition, erasing the drive in the process. People will correct me if I'm wrong or forgot something - but that's the basics.
Thank you. Will give it a try after my new Mac studio has arrived.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2022, 07:51 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,846
Default Re: Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura

I have a pal who got his Mac Studio Ultra at exactly the same time as I did, but a bit later and it shipped with Ventura. He has had only a few issues that he said is hardly worth worrying about. Seems to be solid for him.
G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2024.3 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.6, DP 11.3.1, Logic Pro X 10.8.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
macOS Ventura 13.0 - Anyone tried it (or a beta)? alzakent Pro Tools 50 05-19-2023 06:31 AM
MacOS Ventura LDS macOS 7 09-15-2022 02:30 PM
Eleven Rack Compatibility with MacOS Catalina guijacobucci Eleven Rack 87 07-21-2021 07:30 PM
Compatibility Question LE/MacOS/MBox2Pro vze24x2x 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-30-2009 07:59 PM
MacOS compatibility AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-04-2000 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com