Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2006, 09:18 AM
christopherleary christopherleary is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Default Help with Mbox installation!!!

I have a Gateway MX6920 w/ XP Pro and a Maxtor OneTouch III external fire wire drive and an Mbox 2.

I've done all the required system optimizations.

When I install PT LE I get errors saying that this software is not Windows Logo Verified to be Compatible with XP. It asks me if I want to continue then the install goes fine.

When my computer reboots my video driver is disabled. Then on another reboot I will get something like 680 x 420 display @ 4bit resolution!

I tried reinstalling the video drivers and I get some kind of blue green screen with a bunch of script for a half second and then it reboots.

I thought at first it was the OneTouch after reading bad reviews but after a system restore and reinstall of PT LE I realised it is not the Hard Drive.

Please Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2006, 10:14 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

The Windows Logo message is described in the Getting Started Guide/installation instructions for every version of PTLE/hardware.
You ignore it and click to proceed.

A full system summary from Sandra software (as recommended in the General Troubleshooting thread) may be helpful.
Exactly what system optimizations have you done?
Have you verified your computer from the Compatibility documents? At least one version of your laptop comes with a Celeron processor... which is not supported.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2006, 11:00 AM
christopherleary christopherleary is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

It has an Intel T2050 Dual Core. 1 GB RAM, 120 GB 5400RPM SATA.

Everything seem to work fine afterwards. I even got the drivers updated but the Intel Media Accelerator won't load and the screen looks like crap. Windows still thinks that the driver and all the hardware is working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2006, 12:45 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

Quote:

A full system summary from Sandra software (as recommended in the General Troubleshooting thread) may be helpful.
Exactly what system optimizations have you done?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2006, 03:43 PM
christopherleary christopherleary is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

Sorry for the short reply, busy day.

I don't have my manual with me at the moment so I might have trouble remembering what I changed. I changed the processor scheduling for background services, memory usage to system cache, I disabled my power saving schemes, and prior to buying Pro Tools I have cleaned my system and registry with WinXP Manager.

After doing a system restore everything would work fine again but I would lose Pro Tools (restore point was before the installation). I wanted to to try something out so I undid my restore point and for whatever reason everything worked fine.

After realizing that I had to do a clean install of Pro Tools to upgrade from 7.0 to 7.1 I installed 7.1 from scratch only to have my display problem reoccur. I then did a restore to before I installed 7.1 and my display is fine again.

So for the moment I have 7.0 installed, just the basic program. I opened it and it ran fine but I did not have a chance to try out a session.

I don't really trust the stability of it seeing how I haven't even figured out why it's working now. To me if I can't explain why it's working properly, it probably isn't.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2006, 04:14 PM
christopherleary christopherleary is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : IM-WATCHING-YOU
User : Neil
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Processor
Model : Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2050 @ 1.60GHz
Speed : 1.60GHz
Performance Rating : PR5426 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 32kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe PCMCIA CardBus USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : No
System BIOS : Gateway 77.05
System : Gateway MX6920
Mainboard : Gateway
Total Memory : 1015MB DDR2-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Gateway 2000 955XM/945GM/PM/GMS/940GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 133MHz (532MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM
Shared Memory : 8MB
Memory Bus Speed : 4x 133MHz (532MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : Mobile Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset Family
Adapter : Mobile Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset Family

Physical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : WDC WD1200BEVS-00LAT0 (112GB)
CD-ROM/DVD : PHILIPS DVD+-RW SDVD8820 (CD 24X Rd, 24X Wr) (DVD 3X Rd, 3X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 112GB (101GB, 90% Free Space) (NTFS)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 479MB (CDFS)

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 1 COM / 0 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
PCMCIA/CardBus Controller : Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad

Communication Device(s)
Device : Motorola SM56 Data Fax Modem

Printers and Faxes
Model : Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
Model : HP Photosmart C4100 series

Power Management
AC Line Status : Off-Line
Battery No 1 : 73%

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : Generic Marvell Yukon Chipset based Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

Performance Tips
Notice 5901 : CD 1x= 150kB/s; Exercise caution when comparing measured versus published ratings.
Notice 5902 : DVD 1x= 11.08Mbps Exercise caution when comparing measured versus published ratings.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2006, 05:28 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

Why is there a 479MB partition (D:) named Pro Tools?
Quote:

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 112GB (101GB, 90% Free Space) (NTFS)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 479MB (CDFS)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2006, 05:56 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

That's the installation CD.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-2006, 06:15 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Help with Mbox installation!!!

DUH... thanks Shawn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 1 Installation Corrupts MBox 2 Installation. Any Ideas Short Of Reinstalling OS? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-01-2009 07:03 AM
Help with Mbox 2 installation!! $tereoimage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-26-2007 11:17 AM
Help me please!!! - MBox 2 installation nathanjar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-19-2007 01:16 PM
002 on a mbox installation siroj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-09-2007 03:42 AM
Installation On MBox Liam M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-16-2006 03:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com