Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2006, 10:30 AM
1511 1511 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, Tn
Posts: 110
Default Migration Problems?

Hello,
I'm trying to get 7.2 going on a used G5 2.5 GB machine; HD#3 Accel. I've followed troubleshooting and set up instructions rigorously (so I think). 7.2 works well with some songs that I've dragged to the new audio drive from a firewire backup drive. These sessions were originally placed on the firewire drive as "SSCI" copies. Of 10 folders that I dragged to the new audio drive, seven work well in 7.2. Three of the sessions won't open. They open until inserts start loading. Then, PT "Deactivates Plugins" and "Reactivates Plugins"...and PT crashes.

I tried SSCI directly to the G5 audio drive by ethernet cable directly connecting the 2 machines. The older machine is a G4 DP 1.25 w/PT 6.9.3. I'm not sure that migration is the problem. At first, I thought network sharing the files was corrupting the sessions, but the same problem exists getting files directly from the firewire backup drive and the G4 audio drive. It may be a plugin issue, but all plugs are updated.

Does anyone have something to try before reinstalling PT 7.2? It's a little strange because all seems well except certain sessions.

As always, I appreciate everyone whos helped me out here.
Thanks,
Chas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2006, 01:56 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Migration Problems?

You could try dragging all of your plug-ins out of the plug-ins folder, and then opening your sessions. If they open, then it is a plug-in problem (whether its a compatibility issue or the way the DSP is allocated I don't know). You could then start adding plug-ins back to the folder, and continue opening the sessions. Eventually you will find the problem plug-in for those sessions.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2006, 01:59 PM
1511 1511 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, Tn
Posts: 110
Default Re: Migration Problems?

Thanks for the reply. That seems like an excellent first approach. Would I drag plugins into the unused plugin folder?
I appreciate the help,
Chas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2006, 06:07 PM
JGuth JGuth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 425
Default Re: Migration Problems?

Having any incompatable plug ins in you PI folder can mess w PT 7-you must check and update every one, even if not used in a session. Either update or remove the old ones. There are a few threads about this...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2006, 06:55 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Migration Problems?

Quote:
Would I drag plugins into the unused plugin folder?
Yes. Just make certain that you always have a mixer plug-in in the plug-ins folder. Pro Tools will not launch without one of the following mixer plug-ins installed:

Stereo Mixer
Stereo Dithered Mixer
Surround Mixer
Surround Dithered Mixer
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2006, 09:46 PM
1511 1511 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, Tn
Posts: 110
Default Re: Migration Problems?

All my plugins have been updated for PT 7. Twice.
Thanks for the suggestion, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac-to-PC Migration Problems 2xUeL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-05-2009 11:15 PM
G5 7.4 HD2 to Mac Pro HD1 migration issues BJammin222 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-16-2009 01:18 AM
LE to HD migration.. m4ca Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-03-2009 01:09 AM
System migration borez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 11-24-2007 08:21 PM
migration from 9600 to G4 dss Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-21-2001 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com