Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:42 PM
DFT DFT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 113
Default 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Confirmed 10/18/2022 Bug number for reference: <PT-291640>

I just went from 2022.4 Ultimate to 2022.9 Ultimate on Windows.

Previously after navigating to markers on the Num Pad, i.e, (period - # - Period), I could hold the Shift key, i.e., Shift + (period - # - period), while entering another marker number and create a selection between the two markers.

This behavior enabled me to create different selections while in loop mode to audition different sections.

This is no longer working in 2022.9.

Is something broken? Or has this been removed?

I looked through the setup/ shortcuts menu ... but couldn't find anything on markers in the menu or when browsing through the 'selection' filter.

I'm going to be really disappointed if this has been removed.
__________________
PT10 Win7 x64 Dell 690P Dual Dualcore Xeon 3.0Ghz 16Gb Ram, UAD2 Quad (2), Steinberg MIDEX8 (2), RME HDSPe and A&H ZED R16 FW.

Last edited by DFT; 10-18-2022 at 10:32 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2022, 07:41 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,046
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Ouch. It still works the same on Mac (at least under 12.6 on Apple Silicon). If we get confirmation that it's broken for many people on Windows, though, that will prevent me updating my composing rig until the next release. Keep us updated.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.6 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2022, 08:09 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,020
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

See this thread. Seems to be a Windows issue?

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=421474
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2022, 08:47 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,046
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
See this thread. Seems to be a Windows issue?

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=421474
I've always been able to do it on Windows, which I've been using for my home rig since PT6.9 in 2005. Currently running 2022.5 and will not update if .9 has indeed broken this. I have a fairly old Microsoft keyboard, so maybe that's why it still works for me? Could it be a keyboard hardware issue?
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.6 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2022, 03:27 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,020
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
I've always been able to do it on Windows, which I've been using for my home rig since PT6.9 in 2005. Currently running 2022.5 and will not update if .9 has indeed broken this. I have a fairly old Microsoft keyboard, so maybe that's why it still works for me? Could it be a keyboard hardware issue?
Yeah it for sure used to work on Windows. I'm not sure if it was 2022.6 or 7 that broke it. Or maybe a Windows update? Hard to tell.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2022, 04:39 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,431
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Hmm, I never thought of trying to that given how many key hits are involved(at least 7 keys if you include Shift). You can mouse-click on a marker, hold shift and click another marker to accomplish the selection you want(and it seems pretty quick if you don't mind using the mouse).

To DFT, looks like its time to update that signature
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2022, 06:18 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 466
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Not sure if it's directly related to the task your trying to carry out, but maybe the memory location settings in preferences somehow changed with the update?
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2022, 08:13 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,046
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
...given how many key hits are involved(at least 7 keys if you include Shift). You can mouse-click on a marker, hold shift and click another marker to accomplish the selection you want(and it seems pretty quick if you don't mind using the mouse).
Well, that's just it. 80% of my day gig work is cleaning up lengthy spoken word material with RX-->Pro Tools. I already mouse-click so many times per day that I'm in constant danger of repetitive stress injury to the thumb. I even have two pointer devices -- a trackball on the right and a trackpad on the left so that I can give my right thumb a complete break a few times a day. Anything I can do to avoid one mouse click, I will do. And, honestly, once you're in the habit, you can .8.SHIFT.9. or whatever in <250 ms. I'd go up against a mouser any day on this task.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.6 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2022, 05:46 PM
DFT DFT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 113
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Hmm, I never thought of trying to that given how many key hits are involved(at least 7 keys if you include Shift). You can mouse-click on a marker, hold shift and click another marker to accomplish the selection you want(and it seems pretty quick if you don't mind using the mouse).

To DFT, looks like its time to update that signature
You're right on the signature!

I do use the marker > marker + shift.

But the other method is faster for me and has other advantages. Remember that period-#-period gets the cursor to the loop beginning marker. The first advantage is you don't have to scroll to see that marker if it is not already displayed in the time line. So if you have to change the time line display or scroll before you click the first marker that is also extra steps. And then you might have to scroll or change the time line (edit window size) to find your second marker to click. Finally, if you know your different sections, e.g., verse 2 is marker #4 and 3rd chorus is marker # 7, you can rapidly grab different loop sections on the fly without having to scroll your screen at all.
__________________
PT10 Win7 x64 Dell 690P Dual Dualcore Xeon 3.0Ghz 16Gb Ram, UAD2 Quad (2), Steinberg MIDEX8 (2), RME HDSPe and A&H ZED R16 FW.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2022, 05:47 PM
DFT DFT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 113
Default Re: 2022.9 Win Can't select between markers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
I've always been able to do it on Windows, which I've been using for my home rig since PT6.9 in 2005. Currently running 2022.5 and will not update if .9 has indeed broken this. I have a fairly old Microsoft keyboard, so maybe that's why it still works for me? Could it be a keyboard hardware issue?
As I said, worked fine for me on windows though 2022.4.
__________________
PT10 Win7 x64 Dell 690P Dual Dualcore Xeon 3.0Ghz 16Gb Ram, UAD2 Quad (2), Steinberg MIDEX8 (2), RME HDSPe and A&H ZED R16 FW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 94 10-18-2022 09:17 AM
2021.6 Clips/Markers Grid Select Broken the.engineer Pro Tools 1 05-26-2022 03:26 PM
Beach ball in markers, select all, etc. improvpwnd Pro Tools 2020 22 08-31-2020 10:51 AM
Select area of audio in between markers mediapimp Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 10-20-2009 10:10 AM
Can't select audio between markers bwillman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-25-2008 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com