Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-29-2022, 12:32 PM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 389
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoff View Post
Really? No problem setting marker numbers here.
Well after you set subsequent markers you can only do this one by one. There is no option in the Memory Location list, or is there in 2099.9?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-29-2022, 12:37 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,047
Default Re: Increased Marker Count in 2022.9

Gosh. There were multiple suggestions for improvements to the Markers in the top 30 voted-up posts on Ideascale years ago. It's been talked about to death on the DUC.

Yeah, what we want most is multiple marker tracks. But higher volume is an least improvement. A stop-gap measure.

And, yes, of course you can renumber a Marker. As many times as you want, to any number that's not already taken. That's been the case since before the dodo went extinct.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.6 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-29-2022, 07:54 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonopolis View Post
Great idea, but this is wishful thinking, unfortunately. This would only work if you could set or renumber the marker number. But we can only set the maker name. Still an improvement, I ran into the 999 limit on the last 2,5hr doc, too. The Avid blog post says "Hopefully a little work in the marker area can serve as foreshadowing for things to come." So, let's wait another 10 years...


You can renumber markers whenever you like, it is just a bit clunky. Its also not really an argument for not having more markers in Pro Tools.

Hopefully it is just the beginning. The most fluent way to deal with it to me, would be to have the ability to colour code and group markers into Pro Tools groups, with a very subtle 'marker universe' with vertical placement on the marker ruler differentiate between each colour/group.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:06 PM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

20 year enterprise software engineer here. It makes the release logs longer. It's not listed for you it's listed for the executives (bosses) of the release teams. 32,000 is an odd number though. I guess they bumped it to uint16_t and are using the first bit for something else?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:14 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,283
Default Re: Increased Marker Count in 2022.9

32000 is 32k which average person can understand. Had they told you can have 32768 markers, most would be spinning heads...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:36 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,032
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes. The most famous example of this was a bug in Tetris where once you reached 32768 points the score went negative and started to count towards zero.

This is however practically unlimited. It means that for a 3 hour film you can use three markers every second. I would actually want to see such a session...
Director's spotting notes
My spotting notes
ADR lines
Foley notes
Dialogue editing notes
General notes and temporary markers
Scene/shot boundaries
Track show/hide markers

They go on and on. Each of those could live on a separate marker track that could be colored, edited, conformed, and hidden when not needed.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-30-2022, 04:02 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 211
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
You can renumber markers whenever you like, it is just a bit clunky. Its also not really an argument for not having more markers in Pro Tools.

Hopefully it is just the beginning. The most fluent way to deal with it to me, would be to have the ability to colour code and group markers into Pro Tools groups, with a very subtle 'marker universe' with vertical placement on the marker ruler differentiate between each colour/group.
Avid should just copy the way Nuendo does this. One of the very few things that are spot on in Nuendo.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-30-2022, 08:28 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 921
Default Re: Increased Marker Count in 2022.9

Quote:
They go on and on. Each of those could live on a separate marker track that could be colored, edited, conformed, and hidden when not needed.
In my dreams.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2022.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 04:59 AM
Protools MP-9 Increased Track Count NuBus Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-02-2012 06:05 PM
Trying to set bar/beat marker, tempo marker won't conform maitredebas Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-31-2009 08:31 PM
Increased Track Count? nikseven 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-24-2008 03:39 AM
MPTK - increased bus count? SteveFireland Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-01-2007 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com