Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-29-2022, 01:11 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

You need to change nothing in your DADman monitor profile.

For your setup you should create a 2x INPUT paths in IO Setup which leverage AUX IO from Pro Tools Audio Bridge 32:

Speakers_9 = 7.1.2 path, to accommodate the 9 floor speaker channels + LFE
Speakers_Z = QUAD path, to accommodate the 4 height speaker channels

Outputs - same as above - but feeding out the MTRX / DigiLink outputs (to DADman) channels 1-14.

Yes, you will be able to do Speakers, Dolby Binaural and Apple Spatial all at the same time. Use a 7.1.4 Re-Render as shown in the screen grab to feed into Logic.

DAPS Input = Dolby Audio Bridge
DAPS Output = Pro Tools Audio Bridge 32
PT Output = MTRX / DigiLink
PT Monitor Input = Pro Tools Audio Bridge

Once we get wider busses in Pro Tools you won't need to make 2 paths = floor, ceilings.

Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-29-2022, 01:36 PM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 259
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Once we get wider busses in Pro Tools you won't need to make 2 paths = floor, ceilings.

Jeff
Ahhh, now you are talking

Thanx Jeff, as always
__________________
___

Mac Studio Ultra, 64GB, 2TB, OS 12.6, MTRX Studio, PT Ultimate 22.9, HDX1, Sync HD, BM Decklink Extreme 4K, Dolby Atmos PS, Avid Dock, S1, C|8
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-29-2022, 07:28 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,020
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Once we get wider busses in Pro Tools you won't need to make 2 paths = floor, ceilings.

Jeff
Thank you!!
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-29-2022, 07:30 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

I'm trying a super-simple setup before tackling DAPS, just a two channel PTAB device into Ableton. When the output is a CoreAudio device* that is also clocked by my MTRX, I am hearing the occasional glitch. When the output device is PTAB routed back into PT, seems more solid. But that means having to route everything back through PT for monitoring which I'd rather avoid if possible (but if necessary, so be it).

Early days though, will continue to test!

* MOTU M64, USB to MADI interface
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-30-2022, 12:24 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

OK, it looks like DAPS doesn't cope so well with DAB or PTAB as input and a (locked) interface as output.

Limiting number of real-time threads in Playback Engine helped slightly, but not really.

I tried both with a MOTU M64 and Dante Virtual Soundcard as output devices.

I guess the alternative, having a bunch of hidden tracks in Pro Tools to route back through HDX is also fine. (Or there a way to patch this directly within I/O setup?)

Renderer logs as follows:

Code:
2022-09-30 16:20:29 INFO  RendererExecutive - -------------------------------------------------initializing--------------------------------------
2022-09-30 16:20:29 INFO  Scheduler - Running scheduler with #8 threads
2022-09-30 16:20:30 INFO  RendererExecutive - Total latency in samples: 1058
2022-09-30 16:20:30 INFO  RendererExecutive - Started audio driver with 512 frame size at 48000Hz
2022-09-30 16:20:30 INFO  RendererExecutive - ---------------------------------------------------- DONE -----------------------------------------
2022-09-30 16:20:31 ERROR RendererExecutive - Audio device buffer underrun
2022-09-30 16:20:33 ERROR RendererExecutive - Audio device processor overload
2022-09-30 16:20:33 ERROR RendererExecutive - Audio device buffer overflow
2022-09-30 16:20:35 ERROR RendererExecutive - Audio device processor overload
2022-09-30 16:20:35 ERROR RendererExecutive - Audio device buffer overflow
2022-09-30 16:20:35 ERROR RendererExecutive - Audio device buffer underrun
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/

Last edited by LukeHoward; 09-30-2022 at 12:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-30-2022, 09:24 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Once we get wider busses in Pro Tools you won't need to make 2 paths = floor, ceilings.
YES!!!!! Thank you, Jeff. Super excited for this!
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-30-2022, 02:46 PM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 259
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
You need to change nothing in your DADman monitor profile.

For your setup you should create a 2x INPUT paths in IO Setup which leverage AUX IO from Pro Tools Audio Bridge 32:

Speakers_9 = 7.1.2 path, to accommodate the 9 floor speaker channels + LFE
Speakers_Z = QUAD path, to accommodate the 4 height speaker channels

Outputs - same as above - but feeding out the MTRX / DigiLink outputs (to DADman) channels 1-14.

Yes, you will be able to do Speakers, Dolby Binaural and Apple Spatial all at the same time. Use a 7.1.4 Re-Render as shown in the screen grab to feed into Logic.

DAPS Input = Dolby Audio Bridge
DAPS Output = Pro Tools Audio Bridge 32
PT Output = MTRX / DigiLink
PT Monitor Input = Pro Tools Audio Bridge

Once we get wider busses in Pro Tools you won't need to make 2 paths = floor, ceilings.

Jeff

Hi Jeff,

I trying to follow your instructions here and there is one thing that bugs me:

Do I need to create Auxiliary tracks in Pro Tools in order to get the routing from PTAB to HDX/Headphones?

If I don't do it, there is no sounds coming from my speakers and headphones!

IF I do it, I need to create separate axes for floor speakers, height speakers and for BIN mix on headphones. Only then I can hear something.

Also when I was making output paths I chose HDX in AUX I/O in order to get some sounds out of the pro tools and into MTRX/HDX.

Also this way there is a big delay from what I see in pro tools and what I hear on speakers and HP's.

Am I doing something wrong here?
__________________
___

Mac Studio Ultra, 64GB, 2TB, OS 12.6, MTRX Studio, PT Ultimate 22.9, HDX1, Sync HD, BM Decklink Extreme 4K, Dolby Atmos PS, Avid Dock, S1, C|8
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-30-2022, 06:34 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nedd View Post
Hi Jeff,

I trying to follow your instructions here and there is one thing that bugs me:

Do I need to create Auxiliary tracks in Pro Tools in order to get the routing from PTAB to HDX/Headphones?

If I don't do it, there is no sounds coming from my speakers and headphones!

IF I do it, I need to create separate axes for floor speakers, height speakers and for BIN mix on headphones. Only then I can hear something.

Also when I was making output paths I chose HDX in AUX I/O in order to get some sounds out of the pro tools and into MTRX/HDX.

Also this way there is a big delay from what I see in pro tools and what I hear on speakers and HP's.

Am I doing something wrong here?
I think the idea is to make HDX the primary playback engine, and use Aux I/O to route to and from DAPS. As I understand it, you still need to create the auxiliary tracks to monitor the returns from DAPS.

(it would be nice if this could be matrixed in I/O setup, so the monitoring setup is decoupled from the session; maybe it can be and I haven't figured it out yet. This is why I was trying to get DAPS to send straight to the MTRX via another interface such as DVS, but I haven't been able to do that reliably yet.)
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-01-2022, 12:51 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

What is the benefit of having the monitors returning into Pro Tools rather than just returning them to DADman?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-01-2022, 12:53 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
What is the benefit of having the monitors returning into Pro Tools rather than just returning them to DADman?
None I can think of, except that so far it seems more likely to actually work (based on my limited testing).
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Renderer sync issue with HDX/MTRX Studio remainanon Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 7 05-24-2022 03:32 PM
MTRX Studio HDX and Dolby Atmos Production Suite Goombot Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 64 09-30-2021 02:02 AM
What brings Dolby Audio Bridge to HDX users? nedd Post - Surround - Video 29 01-03-2020 04:24 PM
Dolby Audio Bridge and AVB RSLAMBERT Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 11-03-2019 02:46 PM
Dolby Media Producer Suite v2, Decoder, How to get audio to my SPK w HDX and MTRX rig bsteeve Post - Surround - Video 3 08-16-2019 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com