Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2022, 10:02 AM
JR Fountain JR Fountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 420
Default MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Hey there,

I'm a sound designer and run Dolby Atmos in my studio. Often while I'm cutting I need to record sound effects. Unfortunately one of the limitations with Atmos in PT is that I don't have direct access to the MTRX Studio mic inputs because I have to use the Dolby Audio Bridge as my playback engine.

Currently solution is simply to record separately to my field recorder and then transfer the recording over to the computer via SD card. I feel like there's gotta be a workaround to use the MTRX Studio Mic in to get the sound into another piece of software like Garageband to at least avoid swapping the SD card constantly. I thought Dante could be my friend here but so far no luck.

Any ideas?

Thx!
J.R.
__________________
J.R. Fountain
credits: www.imdb.com/name/nm0288354/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2022, 01:46 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 774
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

You may need to create an aggregate with Dante and the DAB and route the mic inputs into Dante via the matrix. From there into PT! Big PIA!.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 12.6.1, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2022, 01:51 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,899
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Good things are coming!

:)
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2022, 05:11 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Good things are coming!

:)


GASP! 2022.9?


If you usually use digilink and don't need more than 64 inputs into the renderer, you could tie your MTRX Studio to the renderer using DVS.

Another option that I regularly use when just editing, etc, is to just use the digilink hardware in Pro Tools.

- Disable Atmos under peripherals
- Under the bus tab of the I/O menu, send all of your beds to the first available physical 7.1.2 output. That output then becomes your monitor out
- Then in your session, just tap the obj/bus toggle on your object tracks (select all and hold cmd to do it to everything).

All your routing, panning, etc stays intact, it makes recording the same as any other Pro Tools session, and it only takes a few moments to revert back to using the renderer when it is required.


I am looking forward to the day the renderer gets integrated into Pro Tools.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2022, 07:23 AM
JR Fountain JR Fountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 420
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Good things are coming!

:)
I was hoping you'd chime in with something to this effect Jeff. Good to hear!

Thanks for the other suggestions guys, seems like 6 of one, half a dozen of the other so I think I'll stick to my low tech solution for now since I'm used to it.

J.R.
__________________
J.R. Fountain
credits: www.imdb.com/name/nm0288354/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2022, 03:34 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 774
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Well Jeff, exactly how long do we have to wait? Until the coke is warm and the popcorn is cold?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 12.6.1, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2022, 04:28 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,899
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

..or in my case, iced green tea with warm chili garlic edamame.
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2022, 02:59 AM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 260
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

...I saw it on IBC last weekend...it's almost here...
__________________
___

Mac Studio Ultra, 64GB, 2TB, OS 12.6, MTRX Studio, PT Ultimate 22.9, HDX1, Sync HD, BM Decklink Extreme 4K, Dolby Atmos PS, Avid Dock, S1, C|8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2022, 02:28 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 774
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Classy stuff Jeff. I now know what my subscription pays for! Hehe.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 12.6.1, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2022, 12:50 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,899
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

AUX IO in Pro Tools 2022.9 - in combination with DAPS, Bridge and HDX:

https://youtu.be/ZdM3HsHuozQ



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Renderer sync issue with HDX/MTRX Studio remainanon Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 7 05-24-2022 03:32 PM
MTRX Studio HDX and Dolby Atmos Production Suite Goombot Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 64 09-30-2021 02:02 AM
What brings Dolby Audio Bridge to HDX users? nedd Post - Surround - Video 29 01-03-2020 04:24 PM
Dolby Audio Bridge and AVB RSLAMBERT Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 11-03-2019 02:46 PM
Dolby Media Producer Suite v2, Decoder, How to get audio to my SPK w HDX and MTRX rig bsteeve Post - Surround - Video 3 08-16-2019 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com