Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-23-2022, 03:26 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,137
Default Re: Control App pops up plug in

BTW, these are my settings after a lot of trial and error to find the middle ground of Pro Tools being responsive to changes made on my Eucon surfaces/app and also not getting annoyed with things randomly popping up (or closing) when just working in Pro Tools with a mouse and keyboard.

__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2022, 03:37 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,577
Default Re: Control App pops up plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
it's your Open Windows on Workstation set to Avid Control that is doing it. Set that to off.

My guess is you are in Channel tab on your Control app. That reads as panner by default so then it opens the panner window.

It's like a giant feedback loop: You select something in Pro Tools, that switches things on Eucon devices and because something is up on Eucon devices, it opens windows on Pro Tools.
I turned it off and it worked. No more track fader popping up when I select a track in the edit window in PT. I appreciate the help!
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-24-2022, 09:08 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,664
Default Re: Control App pops up plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
it's your Open Windows on Workstation set to Avid Control that is doing it. Set that to off.
My guess is you are in Channel tab on your Control app. That reads as panner by default so then it opens the panner window.
It's like a giant feedback loop: You select something in Pro Tools, that switches things on Eucon devices and because something is up on Eucon devices, it opens windows on Pro Tools.
Makes no sense to me.
Doesn't matter what tab I'm in on ipad Control. My plugin window disappears when I click on faders and controls in PT windows with the mouse.

If I deselect the six options; Track name, Faders etc. the plugin window stays open when I move around in PT. Also when I select a plugin on the Artist Mix, the plugin shows up on-screen, so far that's working the way I want it.

Skjermbilde 2022-09-24 kl. 17.36.07.png

Here's from the Eucontrol manual:

Surface Attention Follows DAW
(Requires Pro Tools 2019.5 or Later)
You can optimize how EUCON surfaces react to actions on-screen in your DAW using the Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area options in the General tab of EuControl Settings.
Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area settings in EuControl Settings > General
Enable any available setting to control when a mouse click tells the surface to attention a track. For example, if Edit Window is en- abled and you click in the time line or clicking/selecting a clip in your DAW, that track is automatically attentioned on your con- troller. If Edit Window is not enabled, clicking in the time line or clicking/selecting a clip will not attention that track.
If using Pro Tools 2018.12 or earlier, consider disabling these settings to avoid possible undesirable behaviors. 


I guess it's the sentence:
'Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area' that I've had trouble understanding, but I think it means simply; when I click on one of these items in PT, the surface follows.

OK. I don't need that. I mostly either work on the Artistmix or on the screen, I don't need that interaction, really.



(Side note: I was expecting DUC to give me an error on this post, since I had quotes from the eucontrol manual with more complex formatting. Shure enough - Access denied. Again I used my simple trick to remove formatting and/or hidden characters in the text by copying-pasteintostickies-copy-pasteback into the posting box. Worked on first try.)
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-24-2022, 09:20 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,137
Default Re: Control App pops up plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Makes no sense to me.
Doesn't matter what tab I'm in on ipad Control. My plugin window disappears when I click on faders and controls in PT windows with the mouse.

If I deselect the six options; Track name, Faders etc. the plugin window stays open when I move around in PT. Also when I select a plugin on the Artist Mix, the plugin shows up on-screen, so far that's working the way I want it.

Attachment 16350

Here's from the Eucontrol manual:

Surface Attention Follows DAW
(Requires Pro Tools 2019.5 or Later)
You can optimize how EUCON surfaces react to actions on-screen in your DAW using the Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area options in the General tab of EuControl Settings.
Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area settings in EuControl Settings > General
Enable any available setting to control when a mouse click tells the surface to attention a track. For example, if Edit Window is en- abled and you click in the time line or clicking/selecting a clip in your DAW, that track is automatically attentioned on your con- troller. If Edit Window is not enabled, clicking in the time line or clicking/selecting a clip will not attention that track.
If using Pro Tools 2018.12 or earlier, consider disabling these settings to avoid possible undesirable behaviors. 


I guess it's the sentence:
'Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area' that I've had trouble understanding, but I think it means simply; when I click on one of these items in PT, the surface follows.

OK. I don't need that. I mostly either work on the Artistmix or on the screen, I don't need that interaction, really.



(Side note: I was expecting DUC to give me an error on this post, since I had quotes from the eucontrol manual with more complex formatting. Shure enough - Access denied. Again I used my simple trick to remove formatting and/or hidden characters in the text by copying-pasteintostickies-copy-pasteback into the posting box. Worked on first try.)
You are quoting my reply to s.d.'s issue. Not yours.
I gave you the answer to your issue in post 8 with an explanation (and your bigger screenshot confirms my suspicions)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-24-2022, 09:32 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,664
Default Re: Control App pops up plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
You are quoting my reply to s.d.'s issue. Not yours.
I gave you the answer to your issue in post 8 with an explanation (and your bigger screenshot confirms my suspicions)
OK. Thanks.
I see now. "Close windows on workstation when exiting" is what I want to deselect. I'll be testing these settings some more.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP please - Plug-in Automation Pops Mixmaster Rick Pro Tools 15 12-18-2021 06:24 PM
pops & clicks from automation control points? sound_music Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 11-26-2013 07:51 AM
Control 24, clicks, pops, blinks, dead emf1138 ICON & C|24 4 03-09-2009 02:01 PM
Pops and clicks with RTAS plug ins toba Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 10-25-2007 12:43 PM
Nasty Pops From Plug-ins Soliton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-14-2005 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com