Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 10-22-2003, 02:31 PM

Default Apple Finally Lose My Vote

Sorry for the over long post - and I am posting it in numerous forums tonight - but this is an email I've sent in full to MacUser Magazine here in the UK. I am trying to raise awareness amongst fellow professionals about Apple Computer's abysmal Customer Service toward professionals who champion their use in all cutting edge media industries. Please remember I am not a troll - I am an established audio professional with over 14 years experience in Macintosh. I wouldn't use PC/Windows by choice and am not looking at a platform war - it's not about that - I'm just pis**d off at the experience I and others have had..... please read on if you will.

[email protected]

Re your Editorial 17th October 2003 (Page 5 - by Kenny Hemphill) Sorry for the long letter but you need to read it to appreciate the full story.

The penultimate paragraph struck a chord when I read through it. "It's not acceptable that a Powerbook or iBook that develops a fault in its first few weeks of use takes several weeks to be repaired"

I am a Professional Audio Engineer and reliant on various Apple machines in my job. 22nd August 2003 My 6 week old 17" 1GHZ G4 Powerbook suddenly refused to wake from sleep. I Forced a restart to be faced with a Kernel Panic. I went through every troubleshooting method known to me - A mac user of 14 years OS 6.x through OSX 10.2.6. I eventually removed the kernel extension that enabled my Airport extreme board. I was able to continue working but there were other niggling issues so I called the Apple Care Lines.