Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-11-2004, 03:31 PM

Default Outdoor Delay Tips?

I'm not a post guy, but I'm trying my hand at some post stuff for personal use. I was just wondering if somone could answer a very basic question for me... I've heard that to make things sound realistic outdoors you don't use any reverb, just delay. Is this true? If so, anybody have any tips on delay settings for me? i need a voice to sound far away in a forest, and i also need some close up vocals too. Would there be any early reflections of trees maby?

I'm really new to this so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Old 12-11-2004, 03:38 PM

Default Re: Outdoor Delay Tips?

Well if you think about it, the delay is caused (naturally) by hard reflective surfaces, buildings etc. So to make it believeable I would think you would want to emulate in audio what is visually on camera or established behind camera. That's my thoughts on it. Maybe others will add enlightenment.

BTW TL Space had an IR called "out in the trees".
Old 12-11-2004, 03:43 PM

Sorry i forgot to mention that it is not for film or TV, its a radio play, so i have no visual refrence. kinda makes things a bit more difficult not to have something to look at and emulate i think... sorry for leaving out that pretty big detail...
Old 12-11-2004, 03:59 PM