Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2010, 06:31 PM
mostlypost mostlypost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 82
Default Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

Shouldn't we be getting a thread going on jerky QT playback in 9? I miss seeing it on the front page.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2010, 07:00 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

is it?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2011, 10:12 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

yeah it's just as bad (or maybe a bit worse) than PT8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2011, 06:34 PM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 440
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

8.0.1 was the last stable version for quicktime playback (for me at least). Am I correct to assume that hardware like the Intensity corrects jerky playback for 9?
__________________
Justin Walker
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2011, 07:28 PM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 440
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

The last thread I saw about this Avid said the ball is in Apple's court which doesn't make any sense to me since it became jerky after a Pro Tools upgrade, not an OS upgrade. I would love to get more input from Avid on this again.
__________________
Justin Walker
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2011, 07:34 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

Apparently Nuendo 5 is having similar problems that weren't there in Nuendo 4. Think this is on Windows and Mac however, and Steinberg seem to have a fix in the works.

They might have a problem, but at least they ACKNOWLEDGE and FIX it (nudge nudge, wink wink - Avid)

You may say it's a problem with Mac OS 10.6 - but how come 7.4.2 worked fine on the same OS? Answers on a post card.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2011, 10:57 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWalkerPostAudio View Post
The last thread I saw about this Avid said the ball is in Apple's court which doesn't make any sense to me since it became jerky after a Pro Tools upgrade, not an OS upgrade. I would love to get more input from Avid on this again.
That is correct - the upgrade in Pro Tools was to conform to newer Quicktime specs (required on our part for future compatibility) which exposed the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2011, 12:04 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 507
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

My quicktime issues were completely solved after 8.0.4, just to throw my hat in to the ring.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2011, 02:05 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

Odd that 8.0.4 fixed them but PT9 is broken again.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2011, 02:13 AM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 440
Default Re: Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
That is correct - the upgrade in Pro Tools was to conform to newer Quicktime specs (required on our part for future compatibility) which exposed the problem.
It just seems like a weird trade off. Jerky playback for the future vs. solid playback for the now.
__________________
Justin Walker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jerky video playback peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 3 08-02-2012 12:05 PM
Jerky quicktime!!! Still!!! kava Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-01-2010 03:06 AM
Quicktime jerky 8.0.3 TVPostSound Post - Surround - Video 151 10-27-2010 06:52 PM
Jerky Quicktime playback Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-20-2010 09:26 AM
Jerky MJPEG playback in 6.1 chrille2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-11-2003 01:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com