Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2022, 04:39 AM
devs1980 devs1980 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2
Default 2022.9 and Waves broken

Anybody else having problems with Waves plugins not working properly? Some of my old Waves plugins keep crashing it, not a problem I'd encountered with the previous version
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2022, 06:38 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,281
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

I had zero issues with Waves when they worked on TDM cards, but ever since they abandoned iLok everyone I know of is reporting all kinds of weird stuff regarding Waves Native. I myself abandoned Waves, because I made myself swear next time I re-wup is the day they support HDX. That day may never come.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2022, 07:32 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I had zero issues with Waves when they worked on TDM cards, but ever since they abandoned iLok everyone I know of is reporting all kinds of weird stuff regarding Waves Native. I myself abandoned Waves, because I made myself swear next time I re-wup is the day they support HDX. That day may never come.
And here we go again


Quote:
Originally Posted by devs1980 View Post
Anybody else having problems with Waves plugins not working properly? Some of my old Waves plugins keep crashing it, not a problem I'd encountered with the previous version
No issues here with Waves and 2022.9 but you need to provide more info for the forum. What exactly do you mean by “old”?

Waves version
System
OS,
Etc,etc,etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2022, 10:24 AM
MEIStudio MEIStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Same issue here. Updated to 2022.9 and something is wrong across all versions of the Waves plugs. Granted mine are long in the tooth. I'm currently running v9, 10, and 11 plugins.

Strangely, the v11 plugins crash protools instantly, whereas the v9 and v10 plugins just have UI issues with higher resolution screens. (they appear small in the corner of the plugin window on higher resolutions and the controls are where they should be on the full window if that makes sense... so a knob thats supposed to be in the middle is still in the middle of the screen, but the GUI is a tiny little thing in the corner). If i move the plugin window to a monitor with a lower resolution, its fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2022, 11:48 AM
npapaleo npapaleo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 36
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Yup, having the same waves issue on my M1Pro MacBook Pro on Monterey 12.6/Waves 14/PT 2022.9 and my Intel MacPro 7,1/Waves14/PT 2022.9 systems. Plug-ins won't load and just cause PT to freeze. Luckily I can easily work around any waves plugs, annoying none the less.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2022, 11:58 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,107
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

No issues here with Waves. All updated to V14

Mac Studio Max 64GB 2TB
macOS 12.5.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.9
HDX + Sonnet Echo III-D
MTRX Studio
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2022, 12:11 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,046
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

No issues here with v14 of CLA comps, the Renaissance suite, and WLM.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.6 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2022, 01:02 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 554
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

No issues with Waves V14 plugs. PT 2022.9. macOS 11.7. I am a heavy user of Waves Plugsins.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.6 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 12.6.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.10 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2022, 01:37 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 554
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEIStudio View Post
Same issue here. Updated to 2022.9 and something is wrong across all versions of the Waves plugs. Granted mine are long in the tooth. I'm currently running v9, 10, and 11 plugins.

Strangely, the v11 plugins crash protools instantly, whereas the v9 and v10 plugins just have UI issues with higher resolution screens. (they appear small in the corner of the plugin window on higher resolutions and the controls are where they should be on the full window if that makes sense... so a knob thats supposed to be in the middle is still in the middle of the screen, but the GUI is a tiny little thing in the corner). If i move the plugin window to a monitor with a lower resolution, its fine.
According to the Waves and Avid Compatibility charts, you would need at least Waves V12 to be on a fully supported PT 2022.9 system. That would be running Catalina 10.15.7. Any higher macOS and you need Waves 13 or 14.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.6 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 12.6.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.10 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-03-2022, 04:57 PM
MEIStudio MEIStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Yeah figured as much, just have to decide if its worth pouring any money into. I use some of the GTR stuff every now and then from my bundle, but i also have like 4 other suites (guitar rig, helix, eleven, softube and probably others). Guess its time to make the decision to just dump waves altogether and move on from that circus or pony up to continue to use their stuff... Funny how none of the other plugins i use run into these issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9 anearforgear Pro Tools 17 11-11-2022 09:35 AM
Custom Shuttle Lock Speed broken in 2022.5 [PT-290238] ArchStanton Pro Tools 31 10-26-2022 11:38 AM
Duy plugins gui broken in 2022.9 ejsongs Pro Tools 1 10-03-2022 01:39 AM
Looping regions (Audio and MIDI) broken in 2022.6? XJENSEN Pro Tools 3 07-12-2022 11:26 AM
Is the MIDI zoom on the edit window broken in 2022.05 Windows? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools 1 06-17-2022 07:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com