Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2022, 03:40 PM
Chvad SB Chvad SB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY.
Posts: 7
Default Hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects tab

Please someone tell me there is a way to hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects Tab. For something I will rarely use it's a waste of screen space. It's so awkward.
__________________
find my music here:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2022, 03:48 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 378
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chvad SB View Post
Please someone tell me there is a way to hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects Tab. For something I will rarely use it's a waste of screen space. It's so awkward.
Chvad - there's an icon at the bottom-left of the main Edit window (above the lower-pane pop-up) that toggles that Tab open or closed (much like the right-side one for the Clip List, and reft-side one for the Tracks List)
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2022-09-28 at 2.46.11 PM.png (18.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2022, 04:53 AM
willco willco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 53
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chvad SB View Post
Please someone tell me there is a way to hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects Tab. For something I will rarely use it's a waste of screen space. It's so awkward.
Argh tell me about it.

No marker tracks, and less real estate lolz. Some bits are being drip fed to make way for the next update I feel... but that tab has got to go pls Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2022, 06:51 AM
Chvad SB Chvad SB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY.
Posts: 7
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Chvad - there's an icon at the bottom-left of the main Edit window (above the lower-pane pop-up) that toggles that Tab open or closed (much like the right-side one for the Clip List, and reft-side one for the Tracks List)

Hey hey Kerry, long time man! Yeah I definitely saw the ability to close the WINDOW but this is interesting. I wonder if this is a windows version issue. When I collapse the arrow to close the window I still have these pretty chunky TABS still present. That's what I'd like to see go away but on your screen shot those seems to be gone, which is the behavior I would have expected. I haven't installed the update on my mac yet to see if there is a difference in behavior. Anyone else with windows able to chime in?
__________________
find my music here:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2022, 10:00 AM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 378
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chvad SB View Post
Hey hey Kerry, long time man! Yeah I definitely saw the ability to close the WINDOW but this is interesting. I wonder if this is a windows version issue. When I collapse the arrow to close the window I still have these pretty chunky TABS still present. That's what I'd like to see go away but on your screen shot those seems to be gone, which is the behavior I would have expected. I haven't installed the update on my mac yet to see if there is a difference in behavior. Anyone else with windows able to chime in?
Good to see you, too!

I wonder if it is a Windows Graphics thing, then. I do see the 3 tab names at the bottom, but it doesn't seem large enough to bother me. I'm running 3440x1440 on Mac, so I'm not sure if that scale has anything to do with it. (I think on my screen shot I just cropped them. That was the top of the tabbed MIDI Editor)
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2022, 10:23 AM
Chvad SB Chvad SB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY.
Posts: 7
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Good to see you, too!

I wonder if it is a Windows Graphics thing, then. I do see the 3 tab names at the bottom, but it doesn't seem large enough to bother me. I'm running 3440x1440 on Mac, so I'm not sure if that scale has anything to do with it. (I think on my screen shot I just cropped them. That was the top of the tabbed MIDI Editor)

I gotcha...

" I do see the 3 tab names at the bottom, but it doesn't seem large enough to bother me.

That's exactly what I'm referring to. Not so much of an issue for ME really as I have a larger screen but everyone one of my students is on a 13" Macbook and screen real estate is already a thing so that's why these tabs are so annoying.


EDIT: I just realized I specifically noted Windows earlier. My main home computer is windows. I generally test on that prior to installing stuff on work machines at the school. Then at work I migrate my macs over to test and then students computers. So if there was some "this dude said windows and THEN macs confusion... that's kind of whats up with my PT universe. :) )
__________________
find my music here:

Last edited by Chvad SB; 10-02-2022 at 02:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2022, 02:02 PM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: 2022.9 is here!

Im on windows. The 3 tabs are kinda bulky and I dont like them. I care about vertical screen space. I also use the Avid DUC member's tool that hides the ugly window bars, but it's annoying to have to do it everytime i open a session. I wish AVID would realize how important vertical screen real estate is and get rid of these tabs and window bars.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2022, 09:48 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects tab

I'm on Windows and the blank space cancels out the purpose of using the "auto-hide task bar" feature for more workspace.
Now the taskbar auto-hides only to have the blank space above it.

On the other hand, when the task bar is revealed, it covers the blank space.
But still at the expense of screen size.

I'm glad the tabs aren't visible in mix view but would prefer to hide them in edit view.

My first thought is that AVID is laying the template for even more tabs to be added.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory

Last edited by take77; 10-18-2022 at 12:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2022, 12:21 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 528
Default Re: Hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects tab

cant hide tabs on Mac


Ej
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2022, 12:18 AM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Hide the new MIDI/Melodyne/Clip Effects tab

Right now I have two options to weigh in mind:

.7 bugs & full-screen space? or .9 bugs & less screen space?

I gotta decision to make...
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory

Last edited by take77; 10-20-2022 at 03:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show/Hide Clip Name Key Command? DrewHarrison Getting Started 2 01-07-2022 02:27 PM
Eucon command to show/hide clip list Rizz Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 4 08-29-2019 08:41 AM
Clip Effects SBP Pro Tools 12 1 06-12-2017 05:19 PM
Alternative to Melodyne for Audio to MIDI? Or Which Melodyne version? DBK Getting Started 6 12-15-2014 12:33 PM
MIDI Editor should hide notes note in clip melino Pro Tools 10 0 06-30-2012 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com