Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-17-2004, 09:11 AM

Default How did you guys learn so much?

Hey,

I'm interested to know how you guys seem to have such a good knowledge about all things related to recording? Individually, it'd be cool to know how you got started and if you had a formal education, or played with the tools.

I've done minor recording for about 2 years, and got dived more deeply into it about a year ago, total'ing about 3 years. All hands on though, so I'm not too knowledgable with the technical aspects.

On other forums, I notice I can lend a hand with help. But around here it seems like I'm a newbie all over again.. haha.
Old 03-17-2004, 09:29 AM

Default Re: How did you guys learn so much?

Spend a few hundred hours hovering over the shoulder of some one who knows what the heck they are doing.

spend some time here http://web.archive.org/web/200302161...diocovers.com/

(and be skeptical of what you read there)

thats not a bad start! B.
Old 03-17-2004, 09:34 AM

Reading, making mistakes, reading some more, asking questions, experimenting, making more mistakes, reading again, wash, rinse, repeat. You never stop learning, just have fun doing it.

StudioCovers is indeed a great site.

Old 03-17-2004, 09:41 AM

I have found that hanging out here on the DUC to be quite educational.
Old 03-17-2004, 10:16 AM

the www.studiocovers.com website doesn't work...it comes up as some domain registration site...
Old 03-17-2004, 10:18 AM

http://web.archive.org/web/200302161...diocovers.com/
Old 03-17-2004, 10:21 AM