Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-21-2010, 11:43 PM

Smile Sharing project with another PT user..

Hi there,

I'm still very new with all things Pro-Tools so bear with me!

I've finished recording some music, and a friend offered to look at it/mix it for me. He uses Pro-Tools LE as well - but on a Mac, and I know that he doesn't have all the same plugins that I do (EzDrummer, Guitar Rig). Does that mean that if I send him the project files - it will end up just being the raw guitar audio (for example)? Or will he be able to hear it - as I hear it - without those plugins installed?

I hope that's clear - and apologies if it's something pretty obvious :)

Cheers!
Old 05-21-2010, 11:59 PM

Default Re: Sharing project with another PT user..

No, he will only be able to speculate what "your" plug in would sound like and use one of his guit sounds. (unless they are the stock Digi plugs, in which case they will recognize the preset) Or you could mix just your guit (or tracks in question) with your plugin beforehand, but then you wouldn't be able to go back or reduce the effect unless you duplicated and made the original track inactive. Use your imagination! One of the cool things about the iLoc is, He could download the plugs you own and then use your iLoc licenses to open your plugs on his machine. (Don't know if you'll be there for the mixdown) Worse case scenario, the absence of a plug will just be grayed-out and made inactive.
Old 05-22-2010, 12:27 AM

There is a couple of ways to give each other control in such a situation.

Lets focus on the EZdrummer-track as an example -