Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2004, 04:48 AM
Voideco's Avatar
Voideco Voideco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Posts: 903
Default Setting up a SATA drive - how?

Hello everybody.
I bought a Maxtor 80 Gb, 8 Mb cache SATA drive and got through the connecting procedure. On opening Disk Management some wizard appeared to initialize the drive. On formatting, what allocation unit size do I have to give the drive? Secondly, before formatting the disk you have to choose whether you configure it as Dynamic, Basic or other type. I set the drive as dynamic and formatted it at 512 Kb allocation unit size. The disk is accessable in Windows & apps, but Pro Tools marked it as non-audio drive and wants to move my audio files to a different location.

How do I configure my drive as audio disk, suitable for PT? I just passed the state of pc dummy and serial ata is still abacadabra for me. All help will be welcome. Thanks,
Walther
__________________
Mac Book Pro 2016 Retina, Quad core i7, 2,5 GHz, 16 Gb 1600 MHz RAM, 256 SSD drive, 500 Gb SSD USB3
OSX Sierra 10.12.5, PT 12.7.1, UVI Falcon 1.6

Metric Halo ULN8 3D Interface, NI Komplete Control S49 midikeyboard

Macbook Pro M1, 2.5 GHz 8 core CPU, 32 Gb RAM, 1Tb storage, Monterey 12.6.6. PT Ultimate 2023.6, UVI Falcon 3.0 + some soundbanks, Waves Platinum bundle, some free Melda plugz, Metric Halo/Make Believe plugz.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2004, 05:33 AM
Voideco's Avatar
Voideco Voideco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Posts: 903
Default Re: Setting up a SATA drive - how?

Ok well that was quite simple actually. I converted the disk to basic and formatted it @ 64 Kb. Then it was a matter of partitioning and adding logical drives and so and voila. There were no help files installed with my PT (5.3.1) so I started blank. Strange thing is however, on doing the Davec test, the performance was diminished to 28 tracks, 24 bit 48 KHz DAE buffer at 2.
Strange.....
__________________
Mac Book Pro 2016 Retina, Quad core i7, 2,5 GHz, 16 Gb 1600 MHz RAM, 256 SSD drive, 500 Gb SSD USB3
OSX Sierra 10.12.5, PT 12.7.1, UVI Falcon 1.6

Metric Halo ULN8 3D Interface, NI Komplete Control S49 midikeyboard

Macbook Pro M1, 2.5 GHz 8 core CPU, 32 Gb RAM, 1Tb storage, Monterey 12.6.6. PT Ultimate 2023.6, UVI Falcon 3.0 + some soundbanks, Waves Platinum bundle, some free Melda plugz, Metric Halo/Make Believe plugz.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2004, 11:11 AM
Plugs Plugs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 213
Default Re: Setting up a SATA drive - how?

Hey Void,

I've got 3 sata maxtor 80s on my system and I did a 32 trk test when I bought the system and all seemed fine. The drives came formatted but I'll check to see how they're setup and let you know what I can find out. They're not raided or anything, just 3 individual drives, application drive, session drive and backup drive. I think they're all 7200 (could be 10,000s though, have to check).

I haven't done a 24/48 test either, so I'll give it a go.

I'll try and check it out 2morrow.

Ter
__________________
BlueSlash Studio
www.blueslashstudio.com

I don't know, what d'you think?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2004, 11:59 AM
Voideco's Avatar
Voideco Voideco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Posts: 903
Default Re: Setting up a SATA drive - how?

Tnx Plugs.
My Maxtor is 7200 rpm for sure, curious to see your Davec results. My system drive is EIDE, maybe that explains something. My pc may be not completely built to Allenstein specs.
See you tomorrow.
Voideco
__________________
Mac Book Pro 2016 Retina, Quad core i7, 2,5 GHz, 16 Gb 1600 MHz RAM, 256 SSD drive, 500 Gb SSD USB3
OSX Sierra 10.12.5, PT 12.7.1, UVI Falcon 1.6

Metric Halo ULN8 3D Interface, NI Komplete Control S49 midikeyboard

Macbook Pro M1, 2.5 GHz 8 core CPU, 32 Gb RAM, 1Tb storage, Monterey 12.6.6. PT Ultimate 2023.6, UVI Falcon 3.0 + some soundbanks, Waves Platinum bundle, some free Melda plugz, Metric Halo/Make Believe plugz.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Boot drive migration to a new internal SATA drive audiowave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-03-2011 03:45 PM
G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ? toneski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-06-2008 12:18 PM
Another Firewire Drive or Internal SATA II Drive??? fenderguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-14-2007 01:44 PM
External Drive writing to Internal SATA Drive Teen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-16-2007 07:29 AM
Will 10K SATA drive help? Stage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-01-2004 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com