Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2002, 08:18 AM
acesfull acesfull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nashville, tn, usa
Posts: 136
Default Higher sampling rate

Eventually, PT will come out with a higher rate than 48k.....I have a digital console that will "lose half it's faders" when I go to 96k....therefore, I'm left looking for a console that recognizes 96k without losing half it's faders, or mixing in PT.
Allegedly, the Yamaha due to come out this spring is written in a language whereby you don't lose faders at 96k---but supposedly, it's faders have a lower resolution--womething like 256, instead of 1024---

so, it leaves me thinking about ProControl, or Control 24----

which is better, and why?

Happy New Year
__________________
acesfull
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2002, 01:17 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

96k takes twice the processing power than 48k. It also will take up twice the disk space. No way around it. As manufacturers put more processing power into products, you'll get more faders.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2002, 03:07 PM
Great Divide Studios Great Divide Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Aspen
Posts: 138
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

Well, one advantage of Pro Control is that it's not really a mixer-it's a contol surface. In other words it's blind to sample rates and bit rates as well as anything else having to do with audio quatily. So where ever Pro tools goes with the high definition audio stuff, Pro Contol /Control one will still work fine. It's really just a matter of preference. I love the Pro Contol for it's great integration with Pro tools and the future-proofness of the design. A real mixer might work better for someone who needs more versatility like using it with other recorders/sequences.

Hope this helps,

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Rosenberg
Aspen, Colorado
www.greatdividestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2002, 04:00 PM
acesfull acesfull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nashville, tn, usa
Posts: 136
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

thank you guys for responding, but perhaps I didn't clearly state my question.

Do you prerer ProControl, or Control 24, and why. I know that Control 24 has mic pre's. I'm looking for other reasons to buy one, or the other.

thanks
__________________
acesfull
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2002, 04:55 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

I like my ProControl
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2002, 08:22 PM
PTLance PTLance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 468
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

They aare both great for what they do. The advantages of the PC is that you can expand up to 48 faders, use an edit pack, and the faders are long throw and feel decent. The C24 has 24 faders period. No expansion possible. The faders are short throw and don't feel as nice as the PC. However I have and love both of them. It comes down to $ and what you really need. The PC does have a almost flat surface where the C24 has a high back making it hard for VGA and speaker placement. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2002, 08:59 PM
acesfull acesfull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nashville, tn, usa
Posts: 136
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by [email protected]:
They aare both great for what they do. The advantages of the PC is that you can expand up to 48 faders, use an edit pack, and the faders are long throw and feel decent. The C24 has 24 faders period. No expansion possible. The faders are short throw and don't feel as nice as the PC. However I have and love both of them. It comes down to $ and what you really need. The PC does have a almost flat surface where the C24 has a high back making it hard for VGA and speaker placement. Hope this helps.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
That's the kind of feedback I was looking for. I know that there's going to be a new PT system, sooner or later----is there any reason to believe there'll be changes in the ProControl?? If not, I'm going to start looking for the best deal I can find. By the way, what do you have yours housed in?? I'm only aware of Argosy, but I'm sure there are other alternatives.

Happy New Year
__________________
acesfull
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2002, 09:38 PM
brasa brasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Astoria, New york
Posts: 67
Default Re: Higher sampling rate

BTW, why is it that you can't use these surfaces withPro Tools LE?
Hey, DIGI, why not? [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody know what the max sampling rate of PT 8.0 LE is? Fabb2004 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-09-2012 10:58 PM
Can't set higher Sample Rate on 002 Rack iluvit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 07-30-2010 10:57 AM
16k sampling rate? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-31-2007 03:03 AM
recording @ a rate higher than 44.1kHz(Hip-Hop)? phanatik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 30 08-23-2004 05:22 PM
Bouncing at higher sample rate. Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-17-2003 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com