Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:43 PM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default MIDI BEAT CLOCK STILL Bad on PT 7.1.1

Hi DIgidesign support TEAM !!!!

I'm still alive !! I 've just bought a MAC PRO with DIGI 002 RACK !!!

I have tested the LOOPLAYBACK mode with DRUM BAR in sync!!!! It 's a shame that PT still doesn't synchronisize well a DRUM BAR with MIDI BEAT CLOCK .

The BAR loops , but looses sync after 1 or 2 loops in PT !!!!

I don't understand why your are not able today to cancel this F.... Bug!!!

My set up studio is exclusively composed with analog Gears ....... I have Old and New BAR ...... and the sync is unplayable in LOOP PLAYBACK MODE !!!

Could you tell me , if this problem will be solved ONE DAY???? Because I really need a professionnal Tool that keeps the Sync with my outboard gears!!!

And don't tell me it is unmakable , because LOGIC AUDIO sync very very Well, in loop playback, the MIDI BEAT CLOCK !!!

Sorry to be a little furious ...I work on PT since 10 years ......in many Studios in FRANCE ( TDM, LE , HD .......) .. And since PT6.4 , you are still not able to correct this Problem .

Thanks for any Help

Alex
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:58 PM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK Bad on PT 7.1.1

You replied this to me few month ago :

"When slaving an external sequencer to MIDI Beat Clock with loop playback engaged, sync will be lost (playback stops on the external sequencer) after the first loop pass.
This is not a bug. This is a limitation of the MIDI Beat Clock specification.

The MIDI Beat Clock specification does not allow the sending of positional information in the middle of the clock pulses. In Pro Tools v6.7 and v6.9, some people won't be able to get MIDI Beat Clock to work, when looping playback, simply because some MIDI devices are cranky about MBC.

Some customers claim synching with MIDI Beat Clock and loop playback had been working in earlier versions of Pro Tools (6.4 and before). Pro Tools v6.4 does not have an "I'm here" command at the beginning of every loop as it does in Pro Tools v6.7 and 6.9. Consequently, it's possible that Pro Tools 6.4 and earlier may work better for some customers. "

MY QUESTION:

Could you add a function to disable the Command ""I'm here"
at the beginning of every Loop???

Thanks a lot

Alex
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:32 AM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK Bad on PT 7.1.1

Digi support team ??? Are you here??

thanks

Alex
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:08 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK Bad on PT 7.1.1

Quote:
Digi support team ??? Are you here??

thanks

Alex
Not on the weekends.

We'll look into this. This particular issue was addressed in late 2005 and this is the first report of any problems we've had since then.

When you say you're using DRUM BAR - can you tell us the manufacturer of this device? I'm not familiar with it...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:56 AM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK Bad on PT 7.1.1

Wooooo do you mean that I am the ONLY sound engineer who uses Analog Gears to compose Beat tracks?

There is the List of machines tested:

TR909 ROLAND: looses sync after 1 or 2 loops

Revolution FUTURE RETRO : looses sync after 1 or 2 loops..... note that the Revolution has a Din dync Roland OUT ..... at the end of the first Loop the DIN Synched TB303 STOPS to plays !!!

Jomox XBASE 09 : looses sync after 1 or 2 loops.

I have tested the DIGI002R midi out 1 or 2 ports and with my Emagic MT4 ....this is the same problem : machines loose sync after 1 or 2 loops.

Thanks for any helps

I really need the PLAYBACK LOOP PT mode with synched midi beat clock BAR !!!!


ALex
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:47 PM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK Bad on PT 7.1.1

I must also add , that when I play Sart at any measures , the slave BAR does not start correctly !!!( there is a micro Delay)

With PT 5 thru 6.4 : the BAR started correctly in sync when the START POINT is at the beginning of the session ( Measure 1).

Thanks for all

Alex
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2006, 07:15 PM
play4keeps play4keeps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK Bad on PT 7.1.1

Im havinh the prob i hope to see how this work 4 you as this is a pain MACPRO 2.66/3GIGSram/002 rack
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:20 AM
Guillaume Gesquiere Guillaume Gesquiere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK STILL Bad on PT 7.1.1

Hi

I have exactly the same problem with my machines that need midi beat clock for a synchronisation (roland TR909, TB303 and revolution too ) !!

I have already tell about this big pb to the support of digidesign France 1 year ago !!
when i have switched from PT64 to pt 672
but nobody could resolve it

Must we switch on Logic ?

moreover, I learn that the DUC doesn't know the problem since 2005, whereas DIGIDESIGN France should have spoken to you about it !!

thanks to fix it rapidly because we can't work on protools 7LE at this moment !!



yours faithfully

promac

MacPro with digi002
and Bi G5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2006, 01:11 PM
karellguillaume karellguillaume is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK STILL Bad on PT 7.1.1

I'm a MIDI user too and I've the same problem!
I speak about it with digi tech at AES Paris 2006 and SATIS 2004 and 2005...
No solution.
What a shame!
YOMF
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:10 AM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: MIDI BEAT CLOCK STILL Bad on PT 7.1.1

Any News from DIGITEAM???? Please?

If you have any question about compatibility between PT 7 and ANALO Hardware , you can mail me at : [email protected]

Are you working on a CS update ???

Thanks for any info

Alx002
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Beat Clock? guitarless Eleven Rack 3 10-24-2010 03:39 PM
Pro Tools Slaved by Midi Time Code or Midi Beat Clock DarylBham MIDI 5 06-14-2009 01:55 PM
Triton...is MIDI Clock difrnt than MIDI Beat Clock BookSix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-12-2006 12:24 AM
Need help with Midi Beat Clock CIPHERM8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-28-2004 09:20 PM
Midi beat clock & 6.0 big_giz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-08-2003 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com