Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2012, 09:52 AM
smurfdaddydog smurfdaddydog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arnaudville, La
Posts: 18
Default How do you move virtual instrument libraries to an external HD?

So I'm quickly running out of room on my system HD and I would like to move my instrument libraries for IK, NI, and digi. Problem is I have no idea how to go about this. Can anyone point me in the right directions to how?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:33 AM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: How do you move virtual instrument libraries to an external HD?

Simply drag the library folders to the external drive then change the directory within the Plugins.

I.e, drag the IK library folder to the external drive. Open the IK plugin. Go to PREFS > ROOT and change the location to the IK library folder on the ext drive.

Not sure what NI and AIR instruments you have, but the same concept applies. I suggest reading this and this for NI.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2013, 03:58 PM
toolgirl toolgirl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: How do you move virtual instrument libraries to an external HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenner View Post
Simply drag the library folders to the external drive then change the directory within the Plugins.

I.e, drag the IK library folder to the external drive. Open the IK plugin. Go to PREFS > ROOT and change the location to the IK library folder on the ext drive.

Not sure what NI and AIR instruments you have, but the same concept applies. I suggest reading this and this for NI.
Cool Sounds Good!
So,
Where Are These Folders Located?

And What Kind Of .tag Do They Have?

Thanks I Want To Move Expand ,Vac, Boom And Others .. Like Element From Waves. Any Help Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Move Virtual Instruments content to another hard drive pzykt Virtual Instruments 1 06-05-2013 06:44 AM
Pro Tools and EW Virtual Libraries Nconnelly Virtual Instruments 16 04-19-2013 02:28 PM
Best place to install instrument sample libraries, system or external HD? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-21-2010 06:13 PM
sample libraries on external drive? stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-07-2006 03:50 AM
External midi key can't control virtual instrument Riccardo Corbari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-09-2005 04:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com