Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2011, 06:45 PM
BtotheZ26 BtotheZ26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bolingbrook
Posts: 17
Default H/w Buffer Check Question

Does anyone one know if their is a configuration in the actual computer itself that may be causing these buffer changes. I have brand new hard drives and the entire system has been checked and cleaned. Is there anything in the pro tools or the actual computer?? It makes me lower from 1024 and at 512 it says to raise it. It also sometimes doesnt finish bouncing, sometimes. If there are any ideas or things i can do to try let me know. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2011, 06:51 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,870
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

sandra report
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 06:58 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

As SW REC says, we need a sandra report. They're many reasons for this particular error, but one thing you can do is uninstall PT, Do all the optimizations that AVID has provided above in the links, then reinstall PT and see if that helps. This is only one possible problem and solution to this error code. To help you find sandra, Click Here.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2011, 10:48 PM
BtotheZ26 BtotheZ26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bolingbrook
Posts: 17
Default Sandra Report

Model: XFX MG-63MI-7159
Workgroup: WORKGROUP
Host Name: bz
User: BtotheZ

< Processor >
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU E8400 @
3.00GHz
Speed: 3GHz
Cores per Processor: 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 1 Unit(s)
Type: Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache: 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64
byte line size
L2 On-board Cache: 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 24-way, 64 byte
line size, 2 threads sharing

< Computer >
Mainboard: XFX MG-63MI-7159
BIOS: AMI V1.2 04/23/2008
Bus(es): ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/
SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support: No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (:Yes
Total Memory: 1.88GB

< Chipset >
Model: nVidia MCP73 Host Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed: 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)

< Memory Module(s) >
Memory Module: Corsair CM2X1024-6400C5DHX 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-
6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-22-6-3)
Memory Module: Corsair CM2X1024-6400C5DHX 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-
6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-22-6-3)

< Video System >
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 7150 / NVIDIA nForce 630i (2
PS3.0, 1 VS3.0, Integrated Graphics)

< Graphics Processor >

< Storage Devices >
WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B2 (500.1GB:466GB (C:) (E:)
WDC WD5000AAKS-22V1A0 (500.1GB:466GB (F:)
ATAPI iHAS422 8 (SATA150, :N/A (D:)
AXV CD/DVD-ROM (SCSI, SCSI-2, :613MB (H:)

< Logical Storage Devices >
Hard Disk (C:): 100GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B2 (500.1GB,
SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Storage (E:): 366GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B2 (500.1GB,
SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Music (F:): 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-22V1A0 (500.1GB,
SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:): N/A @ ATAPI iHAS422 8 (SATA150, DVD+-RW,
CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Audio CD (H:): 0bytes (CDFS) @ AXV CD/DVD-ROM (SCSI, SCSI-2,
DVD+-R, CD-R, 512kB Cache)

< Peripherals >
LPC Hub Controller 1: nVidia MCP73 LPC Bridge
LPC Legacy Controller 1: ITE IT8718F
Audio Device: MSI MCP73 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec: Realtek Semiconductor 888 High Definition
Audio
Audio Codec: nVidia 8001h
Serial Port(s): 1
Disk Controller: MSI MCP73 IDE
Disk Controller: MSI MCP73 IDE
USB Controller 1: MSI GeForce 7100/nForce 630i
USB Controller 2: MSI GeForce 7100/nForce 630i
FireWire/1394 Controller 1: ADS Technologies TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI
PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1: nVidia MCP5+ SMBus 1
SMBus/i2c Controller 2: nVidia MCP5+ SMBus 2

< Printers and Faxes >
Printer: Microsoft Office Document Image Writer Driver
(300x300, Colour)

< Network Services >
Network Adapter: TRENDnet TEW-421PC/TEW-423PI 802.11g Wireless
Cardbus/PCI Adapter #2 - Packet Scheduler
Miniport (Ethernet, 5.5Mbps)
Wireless Adapter 1: TRENDnet TEW-421PC/TEW-423PI 802.11g Wireless
Cardbus/PCI Adapter #2 - Packet Scheduler
Miniport (802.11g (ERP), 5.5Mbps)

< Power Management >
Mains (AC) Line Status: On-Line

< Operating System >
Windows System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600
(Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance: x86

<<< Processor Arithmetic >>>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< Benchmark Results >
Aggregate Arithmetic Performan:23.15GOPS
Dhrystone ALU: 24.37GIPS
Whetstone iSSE3: 22GFLOPS
Results Interpretation: Higher scores are better.

< Performance vs. Speed >
Aggregate Arithmetic Performan:7.72MOPS/MHz
Dhrystone ALU: 8.12MIPS/MHz
Whetstone iSSE3: 7.33MFLOPS/MHz
Results Interpretation: Higher scores are better.

< Performance vs. Power >
Processor(s) Power: 39.62W
Aggregate Arithmetic Performan:584.30MOPS/W
Dhrystone ALU: 615.12MIPS/W
Whetstone iSSE3: 555.02MFLOPS/W
Results Interpretation: Higher scores are better.

< Performance Test Status >
Result ID: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU E8400 @
3.00GHz (2C, 3GHz, 6MB L2, 1.33GHz FSB)
Platform Compliance: x86
NUMA Support: No
SMP (Multi-Processor) Benchmar:Yes
Total Test Threads: 2
Multi-Core Test: Yes
Cores per Processor: 2
SMT (Multi-Threaded) Benchmark:No
Processor Affinity: P0C0T0 P0C1T0
System Timer: 3GHz
Number of Runs: 64000 / 640

< Processor >
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU E8400 @
3.00GHz
Speed: 3GHz
Peak Processing Performance (P:24GFLOPS
Adjusted Peak Performance (APP:7.2WG
Cores per Processor: 2 Unit(s)
Type: Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache: 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64
byte line size
L2 On-board Cache: 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 24-way, 64 byte
line size, 2 threads sharing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2011, 11:41 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,037
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

I'd start by doubling your RAM to 4GB with proper timings, as well as getting a dedicated graphics card and disabling the integrated graphics, then go from there!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:15 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,271
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

I'd start with a new motherboard. You have an intel cpu with a non-intel chipset and that is usually a show-stopper. Integrated graphics are indeed another issue, and I agree that you need 4gb of RAM. I would really consider getting some new parts. A new socket 775 mobo with an intel chipset should not be a lot of cash. An inexpensive nVidia graphics card will suffice(mine was $37 for an MSI 7300LE). If possible, get 2 more 1gig sticks of the exact same RAM(mis-matched RAM is not a good idea). If you can't match the RAM, I would buy 2x2gb sticks. The old parts would still be fine for an internet machine. Before you do any of this, look up your old motherboard and make sure its a socket 775. If it IS, then you might consider squeezing the wallet a bit and getting a new cpu as well(a Q9450 or 9550 would be a nice step up on a budget).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2011, 12:08 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,037
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
(mine was $37 for an MSI 7300LE).
Is that the one you are currently using with W7x64 and 8.0.4/PT9? I need to get a fanless video card! Wonder if I should even bother though since I'm building a booth in 3 months!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2011, 09:06 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,271
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Is that the one you are currently using with W7x64 and 8.0.4/PT9? I need to get a fanless video card! Wonder if I should even bother though since I'm building a booth in 3 months!
Yup. I actually went and bought a 512gb ATI card that others were touting and had a day of troubles, so I went back to the nVidia card. Its still working with PT9 and now I see Avid recommends nVidia cards instead of ATI BTW, I got my nVidia driver form the nVidia site and NOT from MSI.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2011, 12:17 PM
BtotheZ26 BtotheZ26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bolingbrook
Posts: 17
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

Thank you for your help guys!!! Muchly appreciated!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2011, 02:00 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,037
Default Re: H/w Buffer Check Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
...and now I see Avid recommends nVidia cards instead of ATI ...
Yeah, I noticed that. I was actually gonna ask about that in a new thread. You answered both my questions in that one post. Thanks!

But with the ATI card, what kind of problems were popping up? Also, are there any other nVidia cards you can recommend for dual screens in that price range? Yours is discontinued and the ones Avid tested are too expensive!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H/W Buffer size errors/Cyclic Redundancy check/CPU Usage BtotheZ26 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-07-2010 12:45 AM
Virtual Sound Check Question Lee Lundgren VENUE Live Sound Systems 14 09-11-2010 10:30 PM
2gb,check! firewire audio drive,check! samples.... bump!! MarkusB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2007 03:25 AM
Buffer errors ? Could you check this ? DocWatson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-22-2007 10:03 AM
G4, 1 GB RAM, ATTO - Check your DAE Playback Buffer Size!!! maxx Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-22-2001 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com