Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2010, 11:46 AM
cabbagerock cabbagerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Question Weird Bug??! 8.0.3 will not "remember" which playlist lanes are hidden!

I have a weird-ass workflow that includes duplicating large groups of playlists many times, a result of recording multiple songs/takes in one session.

After tracking, I create individual song sessions and use Filter Lanes> Show Only Lanes With> Regions Within The Edit Selection to clean everything up quickly. This is great, until I reopen a session after saving and closing and... all of the "hidden" playlist lanes are visible again

Anyone else have this problem? Any workarounds? Is there a bug in the soup? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2010, 05:26 PM
edemunari edemunari is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Parma,Italy
Posts: 70
Unhappy Re: Weird Bug??! 8.0.3 will not "remember" which playlist lanes are hidden!

I got this since 8.0 and i've never got the point at to-now with 8.03 installed, if someone should help us...

All the best, Eriberto
__________________
Ciao
Eriberto
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2010, 10:57 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Weird Bug??! 8.0.3 will not "remember" which playlist lanes are hidden!

Playlist view is only half baked. It really needs a lot of attention and work. I still use it for comping vocals, but it is really buggy.

I have seen times when the lanes will not expand their view so that you can see what is on the lists better. It is really buggy when using it to comp multi-track stuff. I used it a few times to comp together a multi-track drum part only to realize later that all the tracks hadn't comped together from the same playlists creating a comping nightmare.

I also would like to see the ability to have the playlist colors refreshed. To be able to sort them according to take and name. To be able to keep certain tracks hidden and also to have playlists for midi.

A cool idea, but it definitely needs work. Fingers crossed for 8.1.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2010, 12:27 PM
cabbagerock cabbagerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Weird Bug??! 8.0.3 will not "remember" which playlist lanes are hidden!

Yes - the playlists feature has always been challenging when using groups especially, even before the 8.x visible lanes etc.

If you accidentally do not select a track to duplicate, or have the group deactivated, and/or forget to record arm a track, then the whole thing gets thrown off and there is no way to fix it if you are out of undo range (that I know of). If you want to keep all your .xx track names and _xx file names correlated and also recognized by PT, you wind up having to create new tracks and a new group.

The matching takes feature also seems to work slightly randomly, often not recognizing files with the same start time. It would be great if there was a feature that allowed you to reassemble/sort takes across multiple tracks and groups based on the file creation date (i.e. files that were actually recorded at the same time), in addition to matching start-in times.

The one song per session model is super antiquated, due to massive gains in CPU power and HD space - and the track/ file management system (or lack thereof) remains stuck in a 1998 workflow. How about a preference for being able to designate a suffix for all new/ duplicate playlists? Or maybe an OS-style folder system to keep the file list organized by take/song/group instead of the current mess of literally thousands of regions with only rudimentary search/filtering options?

I'm sure some of you have some better ideas - let's here them!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2010, 12:52 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Weird Bug??! 8.0.3 will not "remember" which playlist lanes are hidden!

Cabbagerock,

I completely agree. I had a scenario where we were pulling in audio files that were recorded in another sequencer. I was trying to group the different takes together in their respective playlist.

In other words, I had audio files named: congas.01, bass.01, acousticGTR.01, congas.02, bass.02, acousticGTR.02 etc. etc. etc. I created three audio tracks, names each of them: congas.01, bass.01, acousticGTR.01. I put the audio files on the correct tracks and then grouped them together. Then I said new playlist, and put the .02 audio tracks. When I was done doing this with about 3-4 different sets of playlists, I thought that I would be able to choose playlist .02 and have all of them switch to their playlist .02. But it didn't work.

I assume this is one of the kind of thing you are describing.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2010, 01:21 PM
cabbagerock cabbagerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Weird Bug??! 8.0.3 will not "remember" which playlist lanes are hidden!

Yes - exactly that type of situation.

There is no way to modify or even view the criteria that PT uses to group playlists, so you either have to move regions onto playlists with incongruous names (possibly on top of another region that then becomes a playlist "orphan"), or you have to create a whole new set of tracks with brand new playlists for that group, which is extremely time consuming.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create New Playlist "Command+\" on Foreigner Keyboard? Spidouz Pro Tools 9 23 09-02-2020 02:30 PM
Invalid fades on playlist "?" audiot macOS 31 04-01-2020 02:49 AM
Lost "sub lanes" in Midi editor SD70 macOS 1 04-30-2012 02:31 PM
Anyone remember the "Big Red Button" Game? BigRedButton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-09-2003 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com