Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:12 AM
potex potex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 45
Default Drum Programming in PT

Is the ProTools midi section a good place for programming drums or is using another program like Reason the best option? If you have a hihat and a snare hit landing on the same beat in PT are you able to adjust velocity individually for both hits or are they given the same value?

Cheers
-Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:32 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

potex

Take a look at this thread on Reason to Pro Tools routing.

Quote:
If you have a hihat and a snare hit landing on the same beat in PT are you able to adjust velocity individually for both hits or are they given the same value?
No ...ummm with the routing given in the former mentioned link, you would have no difficult with that.



filosofem

__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:41 AM
potex potex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 45
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

I'm actually using DKFHS, is the midi strip within PT a good sequencer for triggering this program or should I use redrum? Sorry for my obvious ignorance.. I've never used reason or redrum before!
Cheers
-Ben
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2006, 03:08 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

Ben
Quote:
I'm actually using DKFHS
Sorry for my ignorance too but does Drum Kit from Hell support multiple outputs? If so you still can route to individual MIDI tracks.
Quote:
is the midi strip within PT a good sequencer for triggering this program or should I use redrum?
I believe so ...as for ReDrum over DKFHS, I wouldn't know, in my eyes that would depend on the quality of the samples and whether DKFHS supports multiple outputs, which is your objective.


filosofem

__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2006, 05:37 AM
Bobbers Bobbers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 243
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

I use alot of the instruments in reason and i rewire them into protools and there
i create a instrument tracks and set the input to that of the rewire and the output
to the right instrument in reason.

After that, its just to bang those beats in there and then fix timing, volocity and so on or
use the groove/quantisation

Normally i use kontakt for my sampling and drum needs, but redrum will work just as good.
The midi part of protools is way, way better than reason. Without a doubt!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2006, 06:03 AM
Lapick Lapick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 51
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

Quote:

If you have a hihat and a snare hit landing on the same beat in PT are you able to adjust velocity individually for both hits or are they given the same value?

Sure, to adjust individual note velocities you could simply use the trimmer tool to select the individual note and adjust the velocity (using the velocity view of course).

Regarding how suitable the PT environment is for programming drums I can say that after hesitating for some time I've recently started using the PTLE7 midi capabilities and haven't had any issues yet. I resisted for a while simply because I didn't want to take the time to learn the ins and outs of yet another midi sequencing environment. I've been pleasantly surprised to find it pretty straight forward and intuitive to use. The method you use for sequencing drums may make a difference (I play everything, no loops or cut and paste) but for me it's working well so far.

Lapick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2006, 06:47 AM
jstunner jstunner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 202
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

You might want to check out this thread I wrote awhile back. There is a lot of great tricks in this thread. I still use the pencil note in PTLE!

My MIDI Drum Secrets Revealed
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2006, 11:03 AM
davetron5000 davetron5000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 324
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

I find programming drum tracks in PTLE much easier than in Reason, simply because the Reason sequencer is very limited and not totally there. With ReDrum and pattern-based stuff, Reason rules, but you will not get the velocity or timing nuances you can with the sequencer.
__________________
MacBook Pro Core Duo 1.83
2 Gig RAM
OS X 10.4.8
002R/PTLE 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:45 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Drum Programming in PT

jstunner
Great thread ...I'll link it with Pro Tools & Music 101 thread.



filosofem

__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drum Programming ericsvizeny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-24-2011 09:43 AM
drum programming!!! stef73 Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 05-31-2006 11:10 PM
Drum Programming Help tempest18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-28-2004 06:38 AM
Drum Programming FatBelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-26-2004 11:30 AM
Need Help with Drum Programming substudios MIDI 1 01-26-2003 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com