Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2021, 12:44 PM
cinematographer cinematographer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1
Default Record during Count Off (not pre-roll!)

Hi,

I'm wondering if it's possible to allow recording during Count Off, similar to the way quick punch allows recording during pre-roll (where you can drag to reveal earlier audio).

I found an earlier thread from 2009 asking for this; seems it was not possible at the time. I'm wondering if this feature has been introduced since?

I do orchestral work with lots of tempo changes and having the ability to have a standard 1-bar count off and not have to worry about the downbeat being chopped off would be wonderful. Pre-roll won't work if there's a tempo change on the downbeat. The conductor needs to hear a measure of click at the new tempo.

If not, are there any workarounds to this?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2021, 08:34 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,298
Default Re: Record during Count Off (not pre-roll!)

hmmm, if you want to record during the count, why not simply enter record when the count starts?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2021, 05:10 PM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 463
Default Re: Record during Count Off (not pre-roll!)

far simpler to create and print track just for the count in for what you are trying to do.


ej
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-roll Record Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-04-2010 12:36 PM
Record with pre-roll Stig Eliassen ICON & C|24 7 05-14-2010 06:44 PM
Loop Record/pre roll Mac88s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-25-2009 11:25 AM
Pre-roll on record question porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-29-2004 02:58 PM
Pre-roll record won't work... Naagzh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-07-2004 11:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com