Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-1999, 11:55 AM
gtrman gtrman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 3
Default Optimun system at the least cost

I have been reading this post for the last couple of weeks and thought that I would wait around for the PC version but have started to rethink that position.

I don't know much about Macs and was wondering if someone could tell me what system they would recommend and approximate cost. I want to be able to record and mix on 24 channels so include the amount of RAM required.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-1999, 02:02 PM
lespaul lespaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NY NY USA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Optimun system at the least cost

i do not personally have this setup, but thru the demos and what i have seen here, this should work:

g4 400mhz ($2499) plus monitor

256mb ram (changes often, but approx $500)

*separate SCSI hard drive would always be a big plus, but a lot of people are telling me the ATA's in these new g4's (20 gigs in this model, partitioned for audio) do ok by themselves. For an external SCSI hard drive, you would need a SCSI pci card for the MAC as well (to connect the drive via SCSI!)

this would give you a pretty smokin system to start with the 001. I have seen it used with this exact configuration, and very little crashing. You of course arelimited to the number of plugins you can use by your ram.

__________________
lespaul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcast mix on lower cost system apoc64 Post - Surround - Video 6 07-07-2011 06:01 PM
suggestions for a cost-effective system to run pt hd 8 Filmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 08-09-2010 01:12 AM
Cost Effective Computer System RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-27-2009 02:28 PM
Cost effective 32 channel system? tomv-k Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-23-2008 06:26 AM
Digi, what is the replacement cost of my PT system? Chris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-21-2000 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com