Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 01-15-2018, 09:42 PM

Default Automatic dithering in PT 12.5?

I normally record 88.2 and 24 bit in Pro Tools 12.5. I've been using Pro Tools for almost 6 years in a project studio, so while I'm far from an expert, I'm not a newbie either. A few weeks ago I was told by someone who is truly a Pro Tools expert that I don't need to dither when bouncing down from 88.2/24 to 44.1/16--that essentially Pro Tools does it automatically. Yet when I looked it up in the Pro Tools 12 reference manual, it said that I should dither (if I remember correctly; unfortunately, I'm not at a computer that has the manual). In fact, I believe it recommended dithering even if you weren't going to change sample rate and bit depth. Can anyone tell me exactly what's up with dithering? I understand there might be varying opinions out there, but does anyone actually know for sure? Thanks.
Old 01-15-2018, 09:55 PM

Dither, when you change bit depth.

There is no other contrary opinion

Tell the guy who suggests you don’t need to do it, you won’t and do it anyway
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue

http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 01-16-2018 at 09:17 AM.
Old 01-15-2018, 10:32 PM

Default Re: Automatic dithering in PT 12.5?

Dither is just added noise. IMO if you have a hardware inserted, like an analog compressor, on your main bus you can perfectly skip dithering. The inherent noise of an analog device can act like a dither. But I repeat, this is my opinion.
Old 01-15-2018, 10:38 PM

It will take a smarter mind than mine to explain it but....