Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2014, 07:16 PM
WilliebSR WilliebSR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 96
Default AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

As of the time of this posting I have only identified this problem associated with AIR Music Technology VI... (All of them) The AIR audiosuite plugs are fine. But as you read on perhaps you will see why I am posting my inquiry here at the DUC rather than their site.

An example of what occurs is the drop down menus, drop down when selected: but then no option can be highlighted or selected from the various drop down menus. That example is the most consistent across the board with all the VI, however in each of the instruments there are knobs, sliders.. some work, some don't. This is the same for automation.. some continues to follow the automation tracks and some do not.

Have uninstalled the individual AIR VI via the windows control panel. Uninstalled the most recent versions all the way back to the ones that came in the producers pack in case there was a conflict there. Ran a search and Recycle bin'd everything I could find on the C: drive

Ran a registry scan, (Cclean) fixed all issues. Most of the registry issues referred to a netframework while a few seemed to apply to the files I had just sent to the recycle bin.

Re-installed all VI one at a time. Created a new PT11 session to test each plug in immediately after it was loaded. They all worked fine.

Opened up the session where everything had started to misbehave right after the ProTools update. It has a couple of the AIR VI instantiated... everything worked fine for about 10 passes. For example I was able to change the internal bus on the individual drum tracks from where they were separated to different bus, back to Master.
Then it started misbehaving again, just as I described in my first paragraph, no selecting from drop down menu, could select one of the knobs on the main page controlling the snare but not feel, automation worked for complexity, but not intensity.

Not sure where to turn next.

Running PT11.2.1 on a PC OS is Win 8.1 64bt with a i7 4770 processor 3.50GHz, gigabyte Z87X-UD4H mobo, 32GB of DDR3, Graphics card is PNY GK104 which is Nvidia GTX770 System drive and recording drive are both SSD 500GB Samsung and there are 2ea seagate 2TB internal storage drives (content for VI is on storage drives and was put there by AIR proprietary installer exe) All drivers are up to date. My audio interface is an Eleven Rack with the most up to date drivers and such..... I use this computer to host ProTools and do network it from time to time to act as host to another DAW with Vienna... I noticed there was an update for Vienna Ensemble Pro5 and got that...didn't help with the above problem though. I have an avid Artist Control.. had begun to install that.. uninstalled because I couldn't sort out the physical desk space without some handy man effort. The Cclean registry clean didn't find a conflict there but am unsure about a few files I find in search for Eucon so I left them alone.

Ran a Sisandra to be able to comply with standard duc practices, but really if I posted it, it'd look more like I was bragging about my awesome DAW build and there are no obvious hardware conflicts... and frankly this looks like something that used to get fixed by deleting pref files. That said, if you need it, I'm happy to post it.

I've sniffed around the various file trees and nothing really jumps out at me. While we're at it... a tip on how to get the UAD plugs I don't own off the menu in PT would be nice. I've moved them from used to unused several times to no avail.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2014, 07:55 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,424
Default Re: AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

Hi and Welcome to the Forums

If you run PC we always ask for a Sandra report as it might contain other things users might not see or even know about (in depth techie stuff) so please do that

Also I seriously doubt you would be bragging about a PC build as we have some of THE best PC Tech members here who have rocket ship level builds so I doubt anyone would pay much attention to the actual specs as long as they are sufficient enough to run PT safely and stable.

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2014, 12:20 PM
WilliebSR WilliebSR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 96
Default Re: AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

Sorry for the delay, here's the SiSandra overview page

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : PT11Main
Workgroup : STUDIO

Computer
Model : GigaByte Z87X-UD4H
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : GigaByte Desktop
Mainboard : GigaByte Z87X-UD4H-CF
Serial Number : To be fille***********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) F7 08/03/2013
Intel vPro : 9.00.03.1347
Total Memory : 31.89GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz (4C 8T 3.89GHz, 3.9GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1150

Chipset
Memory Controller : Gigabyte Core (Haswell) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 16GB DIMM DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : KHX1600C10D3/8GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1332
Memory Module : KHX1600C10D3/8GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1332
Memory Module : KHX1600C10D3/8GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1332
Memory Module : KHX1600C10D3/8GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1332

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACR Acer AL2216W
(1680x1050, 22.0")
Monitor/Panel : ACR AL2216W
(1680x1050, 22.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (8CU 1536SP SM5.0 1GHz/1.2GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 7GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (8CU 1536SP SM5.0 1GHz/1.2GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 7GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (1536SP 8C 1GHz/1.2GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 7GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (1536SP 8C 1GHz/1.2GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 7GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (160SP 20C 600MHz/1.25GHz, 64MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (1536SP 8C 1GHz/1.2GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 7GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, SSD) : 466GB (C:)
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, SSD) : 466GB (H:)
Seagate ST2000DX001-1CM164 (2TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 2TB (E:)
Seagate ST2000DX001-1CM164 (2TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 2TB (F:)
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (G:)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NS95 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 350MB (NTFS)
RecSSD (H:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, SSD)
Samples (E:) : 2TB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST2000DX001-1CM164 (2TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Recording (F:) : 2TB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST2000DX001-1CM164 (2TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
EW CCC (G:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Hard Disk (C:) : 465GB (NTFS) @ Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, SSD)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NS95 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Gigabyte Lynx Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8728F
Audio Device : Intel Core (Haswell) HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : Gigabyte Lynx Point HD Audio Controller
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Lynx Point 6-Port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte 91xx SATA 6G Controller
USB Controller 1 : Gigabyte Lynx Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Gigabyte Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : Gigabyte Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send to Microsoft OneNote 15 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-V (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Wireless Adapter : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 8.1 Home 6.03.9600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 8.1

Again, thanks in advance for any guidance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2014, 08:20 PM
WilliebSR WilliebSR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 96
Default Re: AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

bump
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2014, 09:07 PM
Bruce Paine's Avatar
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

Which "AIR VI" plug-ins?

Can you give an example of the plug-in name and version number that exhibits the behavior you described?

If these are free AIR plug-ins that come with Pro Tools, the version you would have installed in your AAX plug-ins folder would be the ones that are there after you install the correct version from your Avid account:
AIR Creative Collection 11.1 Installer for PT 11.1+ (Win) (2.59 GB)

Do you have any other version of Pro Tools installed on your system, or just Pro Tools 11.2.1?
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2014, 12:04 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,175
Default Re: AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

[QUOTE=WilliebSR;2185490]

"AIR Music Technology VI...

An example of what occurs is the drop down menus, drop down when selected: but then no option can be highlighted or selected from the various drop down menus."

The AIR Instrument Expansion Pack v2.0.2 drop down menus work for me, using Windows 7 Service Pack 1.

I see your OS (Microsoft Windows 8.1 Home 6.03.9600) is "not-supported" here:
http://www.airmusictech.com/product/...m_requirements
System Requirements
PC: Windows 8 Professional, Windows 7 Home Premium, Professional, or Ultimate edition with Windows 7 Service Pack 1

I was wondering:
is anybody else successfully using AIR Instrument Expansion Pack v2.0.2 with Microsoft Windows 8.1 Home 6.03.9600?




PS
There is also a separate issue (for some) with Strike 2.0.2's Presets Browser:
‘Unloadable’ Strike presets – workaround:
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2196344&postcount=9

Last edited by unkJE; 11-09-2014 at 03:08 PM. Reason: double-clicking
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2014, 05:21 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,175
Default Re: AIR VI bonkers after updating PT11.2.1

Saw an update here:

http://www.airmusictech.com/product/...k#.VFLUbVd0zFw

System Requirements

PC: Windows 8 (64 Bit), Windows 7 (64 Bit); Minimum Dual Core 2GHz (Intel Core i5 or i7 Recommended)
Mac: Mac OS X 10.8, 10.9; Core Duo Processor (Intel Core i5 or i7 Recommended)
Minimum RAM 4GB (8GB or more recommended)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unusual Crash after Updating to PT11 pianolife macOS 0 12-19-2013 03:18 AM
002 / PT LE 7.3 errors driving me bonkers! otobianki74 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-18-2007 03:51 PM
HUI gone bonkers!!! Zak_B Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-01-2003 11:06 AM
Loopty loop & it's driving me bonkers! shaggy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 12-03-2001 11:50 AM
general system sluggishness driving me bonkers tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 11-25-2001 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com