Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2010, 04:54 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default ADAT Outputs to AV Receiver......Possible?

Hi all,

I'm trying to cobble together a 5.1 playback system just so I can literally rough cut at home.

Using the Mix 51 plugin it states that 6 mono aux tracks are created to monitor the surround mix.

Is it in theory possible then to send ADAT Outs 1-6 to an AV Receiver. I'm assuming the receiver will see the audio as 6 discrete PCM audio tracks so no decoding required.

Is this feasible, has anybody tried it? I'm trying to avoid matrixing down to Lt Rt and decoding with Pro Logic II.

As with anything digital I guess clocking could be an issue?

Any thoughts
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2010, 05:05 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: ADAT Outputs to AV Receiver......Possible?

If you're talking a home receiver they all (to the best of my knowledge) are using BITSTREAM over a Coax connector, providing for the 5.1 signal. Receivers DO have optical, but they are optical S/Pdif and NOT ADAT Optical. The difference is 2-channels v/s 8-channels. It will come down to the receiver, but even then do you want to use a home receiver to mix on---or is this just for playback?
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2010, 05:09 PM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: ADAT Outputs to AV Receiver......Possible?

Brad is correct, ADAT is a professional (not really though) spec. Home receivers all use a coded signal, like ac3 or a matrix 2 channel like LtRt.

Neyrinck has video's on his site about this processes. Basically you matrix the output in real time and send that tot he receiver to decode for monitoring. I know the LtRt plug works with CPTK, not sure on vanilla LE.

Check out his site for more info.
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2010, 06:00 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: ADAT Outputs to AV Receiver......Possible?

Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies.

This is just so I can edit and play back at home, not mix. I thought it was a long shot but as stated the Lt Rt method decoded via Pro Logic ii will do the job.

It's a one off Uni Degree project so trying to avoid spending cash on kit.

Mix 51 works fine in LE and includes Lt Rt to allow you to monitor on an Mbox 2 with less than 6 outs.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Adat Outputs Innerfear3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-06-2011 12:30 PM
anyone using adat for more outputs? supafuzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 11-22-2004 08:53 PM
Is it possible to get more the Adat outputs? manda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-03-2004 09:32 AM
Clicking with ADAT outputs, DA7 sean shannon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-01-2002 08:54 PM
using an adat as 8 more discrete outputs... ccstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-05-2001 12:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com