Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2021, 10:57 PM
lederhosen lederhosen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 19
Default Midi Keyboard not working

I have tried every vid on You Tube and can not get my keyboiard to work on an Instrument or Midi Track.

Keyboard works with any of my Libraries in stand alone. Has worked inside PT in the past, but just all of sudden stopped working.

As for the Keyboard connection, I am running straight via USB. I have changed cables, and still no difference.

In the past, keyboard has always had to be on before starting PT to be recognized, still following that.

In the Optioins tab Midi thru is checked.

What I did notice is that inside Midi Studio after I set my Input and Output Ports, when I shutdown and come back in, these ports are empty and I have to reset them again. Could this be the problem?


Pic attached of my Settings.


Appreciate any help.

Version 11.3.1
Windows 10
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Input Devices & Midi Studio Set-up.pdf (329.8 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by lederhosen; 08-08-2021 at 08:55 AM. Reason: Mispellings
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2021, 04:33 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,309
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working

FWIW, Default Midi Thru instrument is set to none here. I have to put the track into record-ready, but it always works
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2021, 08:57 AM
lederhosen lederhosen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 19
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working

albee, I don't follow your "Default Midi Thru instrument is set to none here"?

I have never had to arm and Instrument Track for it to work, and tried that on a Midi Track, and stll nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2021, 09:46 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,309
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by lederhosen View Post
albee, I don't follow your "Default Midi Thru instrument is set to none here"?
This is a setting in Preferences(Midi tab). I think it defaults to the first selected midi track. I have had it set to none for several years and have had zero issues recording midi from any controller(currently using an Akai Advance 61). Having to arm the track seems like a tiny trade-off if it makes things work.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2021, 05:57 PM
lederhosen lederhosen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 19
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working

Okay, I've tried that and still not working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools Media Man Pro Tools 2020 8 10-14-2021 10:33 AM
MIDI keyboard not working & no HUI Audio Master Windows 3 07-18-2012 03:08 PM
Midi keyboard setup not working? Raoul23 MIDI 0 05-27-2011 09:18 AM
Axiom midi keyboard not working since PT 8 cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-18-2009 08:23 PM
MIDI Keyboard Not Working after PT8 Upgrade JCWarrior 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-07-2009 09:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com