Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2021, 06:14 PM
Peter Sprague Peter Sprague is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Encinitas, CA. USA
Posts: 60
Default VCA Track Behaviour

Hi!
I'm hoping someone has the solution to my issue with a VCA FADER.

I'm on PT10 and I have a bunch of tracks that are grouped and then controlled with a VCA FADER. Everything works as expected however, when I have some of the grouped tracks set to record, (the VCA track also automatically goes into record too), now when I move the VCA volume slider down, the record enabled grouped tracks don't move down. It isn't until I turn the record buttons off on the grouped tracks that the VCA is able to control the volume of the grouped tracks.

I’d like to be able to move the VCA fader and have the grouped faders move both when the tracks are record enabled or not.

Can you try this on your rig and see if you get the same results?

I talked with a friend whose using a more current version of PT and here’s his take on the issue:

I don't know if this is a bug in your version, but that is NOT how it operates; the way VCAs work is exactly your desired behavior; members of the group raise and lower proportionally regardless of record status.

Thanks and let me know if you have any ideas.

best, Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2021, 06:33 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,870
Default Re: VCA Track Behaviour

It isn't a question of the "Link record and play faders" is it? "Operation" menu in preferences.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2021, 03:44 PM
Peter Sprague Peter Sprague is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Encinitas, CA. USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: VCA Track Behaviour

Thanks Ben for the try and I just clicked that preference on and it's still the same behavior.

Any chance you can run a test on your rig to see if you get the same thing?

thanks, Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2021, 05:00 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,870
Default Re: VCA Track Behaviour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Sprague View Post
Any chance you can run a test on your rig to see if you get the same thing?
Shure. I just did, and it works like it should.
All tracks in a group follows the VCA, even if some of them are rec enabled.
This is with the system in my signature.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.0 aux weird behaviour paulo m Post - Surround - Video 1 08-31-2019 11:03 AM
Odd screen behaviour stefanboman Avid S6 8 11-10-2017 01:37 PM
when did VCA behaviour change? tomlowd Post - Surround - Video 6 08-21-2011 10:21 PM
7.2 new behaviour I don't like Dan Pinder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-14-2006 12:06 PM
funny 5.1.3 behaviour. E-an Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-22-2003 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com