Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2016, 05:47 AM
K_BCN K_BCN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 17
Default What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

I want to use a second Artist Control in another studio and i´d like to transfer my programmed softkeys etc there. Is there a way to do this by copying certain files on the right folder?

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2016, 06:41 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 556
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

Try searching "transferring artist settings to new pro tools versions"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2016, 07:33 AM
K_BCN K_BCN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 17
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

I am on Windows, Cubase 8.

Tried opening the cubase.xml and cubase5.xml with an editor and they dont seem to contain any of my custom softkeys. Tried to find the last modified or created file but they are all form 2015 and i saved my settings recently.

Tried to look for more files on Common Files and My documents and nothing seems to be there either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2016, 06:38 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 556
Default What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

I am not familiar with Cubase files. The way I figured out the location was by trial and error saving updates and then tracking the time stamp. I would think that they would be in the same location as the pro tools. I have then copied and saved them to a backup folder. I then deleted the file I believed was the settings file and verified the settings were gone and then replaced with the backup and it worked. It would be a lot better and easier if the software gave a guy the option of saving to a file and location with reloading capabilities as well.

My files are in user/.../app data/roaming/euphonix/dyn_appsets. There is also one buried in the user sets folder as well. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2016, 12:15 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 845
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

I don't know where the files are stored in Windows. On a Mac it's in the Library/Application Support/Euphonix/
I transferred my custom soft keys from Pro Tools 10 to another Mac with Pro Tools 11. I copied the xml-file and renamed it from Pro Tools 10 to 11. Works perfect.
I know that all relevant content-files are stored in the same location, whether it's Pro Tools, Cubase or Logic.
Hope that helps.

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2021, Euphonix MC Control
MacBook Air 2020 (M1) 16 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Zoom U-44 and Pro Tools Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2016, 10:13 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 523
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_BCN View Post
I am on Windows, Cubase 8.

Tried opening the cubase.xml and cubase5.xml with an editor and they dont seem to contain any of my custom softkeys. Tried to find the last modified or created file but they are all form 2015 and i saved my settings recently.

Tried to look for more files on Common Files and My documents and nothing seems to be there either.

Here4 ya go!
The Custom user-sets are stored here:
Mac OS:
/Library/Application Support/Euphonix/UserSets/MC2User/MC_User_Set_Root/...

Windows 7:
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Roaming\Euphonix\UserSets\M C2User\MC_USER_SET__Root


Here's the link, if you need more information! I hope this helps!
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...rue&popup=true
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2016, 02:59 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 524
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

thanks for that info keyG

you can actually open that file in text edit... helped me solve a bug.. ( I was trying to put a pause command into my custom softkey command - for some reason the EuControl app would delete them !

looks like with a bit of head scratching you could use this to move your custom keys around - rather than having to reprogram them all just becos you want to move them up a row for instance?!

I find the Eucontrol a bit slow for adding commands - so moving them around can be a bit of a pain..

and you cant copy /cut/ paste them.. ( can you?) to move your commands around..
__________________
2018 i7 3.6 GHz 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.6.2 - 32Gig RAM 512 Gb SSD drive
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 2022 10 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2016, 05:33 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 523
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fork-media View Post
thanks for that info keyG

you can actually open that file in text edit... helped me solve a bug.. ( I was trying to put a pause command into my custom softkey command - for some reason the EuControl app would delete them !

looks like with a bit of head scratching you could use this to move your custom keys around - rather than having to reprogram them all just becos you want to move them up a row for instance?!

I find the Eucontrol a bit slow for adding commands - so moving them around can be a bit of a pain..

and you cant copy /cut/ paste them.. ( can you?) to move your commands around..
Well, that would be a LOT of head scratching (LOL) to make that work!
You are correct, you cannot just copy & paste commands. The MOST you can do is back them up and transfer the entire set between workstations. But, if you can figure it out, be sure to let us know!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2016, 10:45 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 524
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

well on that challenge - I had another look

they are organised into banks - which seems to equal page number.

and softkey numbers 1 - 24

so I guess its not a massive deal to start renumbering them.... not sure if they need to be inorder in the XML file?

I might have a go after all u can back up the whole file and replace it if it goes pear shaped!
__________________
2018 i7 3.6 GHz 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.6.2 - 32Gig RAM 512 Gb SSD drive
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 2022 10 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2017, 10:01 AM
James@Wanted! James@Wanted! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control?

Would this work for transferring Soft Keys from Pro Tools 10 to Pro Tools 12?
__________________
#1
MacPro Late 2010 - 3.46 GHz 12Core
OSX 10.11.6 running on Samsung SSD (w/internal BU)
ProTools HD Native 12.7
96GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM
Sapphire AMD Radeon 7950
Allegro USB3 PCIe
Allegro FW800 PCIe for UAD Apollo Firewire

Peripherals:
Axiom Pro 61, Korg padKontrol, Oxygen 8, Behringer BCF2000, WACOM Tablet, MOTU MidiTimepiece, Kurzweil K2000R, Alesis QuadraVerb, Roland XV5080, nOb Control, Punch Light, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Transport, Avid Artist Mix, Mackie Hui
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy/Paste or Move for Artist Control softkeys? hanksinclair Artist Series 17 01-30-2016 09:52 AM
Mousepad on the Artist Control under softkeys YYR123 Artist Series 0 06-06-2014 01:28 PM
Touching Artist Transport Freezes Up Artist Control in Logic sonofmack Artist Series 1 03-13-2013 08:22 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
Using Artist Control with Artist Transport? GrievousAngel Windows 2 03-14-2012 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com