Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2013, 08:11 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 486
Default tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

I'd been using a tascam FW1884 as interface /surround monitor control in one room for about 8 9 years...

its decided to retire.. ( lasted almost as long as my mackie HUI ! )

I am running protools 10 (CPTK ) natively on a MOTU interface I also have.. but no monitor control..

any affordable recommendations ( my mons are self powered Yamaha MSP 10 studio )

thanks!
__________________
i7 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.3.1 - 32Gig RAM SSD
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 202112 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2013, 08:49 PM
nst7 nst7 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

I don't know that there's any inexpensive monitor controls for surround.

It may be cheaper to just get a new interface that allows the volume knob to be assigned to multiple outputs (for this very purpose).

The Focusrite Saffire Pro 56 and 40, and Scarlett 18i20 (the usb version of the Pro 40) would be pretty inexpensive. The Mbox 3 Pro does it as well, but that's more expensive because it's bundled with Protools software (but if you were gonna upgrade anyway, then it might be a good value).

All of these allow you to assign the volume knob and monitor control to various configurations like stereo, 5.1, 7.1 (if it has enough outputs), etc.

I know it may seem weird to pay for features you don't need, but I don't know if there's any dedicated surround monitor controllers that are under $500 anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2013, 09:15 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 486
Default Re: tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

2 birds one stone

actually I am thinking about a new pre amp - so this might be the 'thing to get'

any experience with PT and a USB interface like this? or if I go firewire will it screw with my DV deck?

thanx :)
__________________
i7 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.3.1 - 32Gig RAM SSD
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 202112 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2013, 10:41 PM
nst7 nst7 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

USB has come a long way in the last few years. Performance of newer usb interfaces is pretty much on par with firewire. The USB based Scarlett 18i20 seems like a great unit, and firewire is on its way out. By going usb on your interface, you can keep it off the same buss as your firewire devices.

There's a thread on Gearslutz about this unit, and people seem very happy with it, both function and sound quality. As for recording, it's been confirmed that it goes down to a buffer of 32, which is very low latency if you want to track with plugins.

If your computer has issues at low buffers, all the Focusrite units also have a very well thought out software for low latency monitoring called Mix Control. It's very flexible and versatile.

For the drivers and Mix control software, it appears that you need to be on Lion or Mountain Lion, but that shouldn't be a big deal to upgrade from Snow Leopard.

I did notice your computer is pretty old. Even the cheapest Mac Mini will blow away what you have in processing power. You might think about upgrading the computer as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2013, 08:36 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 486
Default Re: tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

timely advice - I am really thinking about majot changes at this point... want to re do a small edit suite and it must be said the mac pro is a space hog!

as well as a 'hummer'

need to read up in the on macmini - havent looked at any new kit in a while...

will it support 2 x 24 inch displays?

is it a noisy little thing? imagine they get quite hot?? so an enclosure in order?

to be honest the macpro is still workin for me.. I dont do much in the way of virtual instruments.. jus use reason and the DAW with audiofinder..
__________________
i7 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.3.1 - 32Gig RAM SSD
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 202112 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2013, 03:25 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Default Re: tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

If looking for a USB interface and monitor controller in the same unit, I would recommend either the Audient ID22 or the new SPL Crimson which will be out soon. These are stereo only monitor controllers though.

If going to simple monitor control SM Pro Audio offers affordable solutions in both stereo and 5.1. SPL also has some good options.

Going up on the scale, Dangerous Music, Audient, Crane Song and Grace Design offer very flexible solutions in 5.1 although a bit more expensive.

If you really need 5.1 moitoring, I would suggest buying an interface for PT and a separate monitor controller, that gives you more choices and flexibility.

If only stereo and on a budget, the first USB/Interface combos I suggested are great too.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2013, 05:50 AM
nucelar's Avatar
nucelar nucelar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 390
Default Re: tascam 1884 'retired' now what surround monitor control

AFAIK if you get a Mac mini or iMac you can use the HDMI for 8-channel output. Connect that to a surround processor with HDMI in and preamp outs.
for example:
http://www.outlawaudio.com/products/975.html

I have not tested such a setup but If I would need an output-only edit system I would probably not buy an interface
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tascam FW-1884 Andy_P Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-21-2008 11:16 AM
Tascam FW-1884? Rick Akoni ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 10-14-2006 11:56 AM
TASCAM FW-1884 bettyjames 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-19-2005 09:01 AM
Tascam Fw-1884 bettyjames ICON & C|24 4 12-18-2005 07:43 PM
Anyone with the Tascam FW-1884 ? frankreverbo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-05-2005 04:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com