Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2011, 09:42 PM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Default Windows XP vs. Windows 7

I would like to upgrade to PT9 but have avoided it due to my rock solid XP setup - However - I hear that Windows 7 will access and utilize all 4GB of RAM instead of the currently displayed 3.25GB

My current XP setup has every known tweak, but most importantly, it can have a working PT session up at the same time as a browser window - both with audible content. Can the Windows 7 drivers handle this? -

any resources out there for audio tweaks on 7? Let me know if it's worth the plunge! I have a custom audio PC from Sweetwater

tj
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2011, 10:30 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,136
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
it can have a working PT session up at the same time as a browser window - both with audible content. Can the Windows 7 drivers handle this? -
Not that I usually do it but I'v been surfing, taking backups and running PT9 at the same time.
I think this has more to do with how powerfull and compatible your machine is whether you can do this or not.

XP is over 10 years old. In the computer era this is a especially long time.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2011, 10:45 PM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

what about the 32bit vs 64bit thing? I remember some folks talking about that last time I checked in on this (2 years ago)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2011, 10:47 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,884
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
I would like to upgrade to PT9 but have avoided it due to my rock solid XP setup - However - I hear that Windows 7 will access and utilize all 4GB of RAM instead of the currently displayed 3.25GB ......
Windows 7 64 BIT can use 4GB+ another 12GB if on Windows 7 Home Premium (16GB limit in W7 Home Premium 64bit) and Windows 7 Pro and Ultimate 64 bit, can use up to 192GB of ram.

Pro Tools is still 32 bit, so in a 32 bit OS it will only be able to use about 1.7GB unless you do the 3GB/Switch, then it usually gets around 2.7GB

Running any 32 bit app in a 64 Bit OS will let the 32 bit app utilize up to 4GB of Ram natively. So if you get Windows 7, make sure to get the 64 bit version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
any resources out there for audio tweaks on 7?
I dont do all of them, as I need Aero ON because I use many programs at one time, but here are the opts.

Avid Windows 7 Optimizations Video Playlist - YouTube

Windows 7 Optimizations

and some PT9 info.....

Pro Tools 9 Frequently Asked Questions

Pro Tools 9.0.2 Update


Driver Downloads and Updates for Pro Tools 9 and 8
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2011, 07:54 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,976
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

Install Win7 on a new drive. That way you can immediately revert to XP and your current PT version if needed.

For me, Win7x64 has been like a miracle. Everything is quicker and easier. The only thing I didn't like was that when re-backing up a PT session, it wanted me to confirm that I wanted to overwrite every single file one by one. But there's a utility called Classic Shell that allows it to work like it XP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
[XP] can have a working PT session up at the same time as a browser window - both with audible content. Can the Windows 7 drivers handle this?
Yes, if your computer is newer than, say, 3 yrs old.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Monterey on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:07 PM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

ahh, so I can literally pull the current system drive out and set it aside while using a fresh drive for 7

this is a Core 2 Quad @ 2.66 GHZ and one year old. The chip is ASUS

I am excited at the possibility of this working, especially since I'll be doing the same for my laptop - which was made for 7 but I resisted and installed XP upon purchase

looking forward to upgrading both to 8GB of RAM!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:26 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,976
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
ahh, so I can literally pull the current system drive out and set it aside while using a fresh drive for 7
Don't even need to pull it out if you have another SATA port. I keep both my XP and Win7 drives mounted. When I reboot, it asks me which system to boot to. After a few seconds it boots to Win7 if I don't choose.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Monterey on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:50 PM
Motoko Motoko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 14
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

Been running on Win 7 x64 for more then a year and all I can say it's rock solid. I reboot my laptop once every twee weeks tops and haven't had any issues, apart from some problems while PT9 was scanning my plugins for the very first time.

Recently updated to SP1 on both my Windows machines and no problems. Here's a link to a power profile for Win 7 optimized for audio handling.

http://support.presonus.com/entries/...for-studio-one

x64 is basically only useful if you are using more then 4 GB of RAM in your machine.
__________________
Windows 7 x64 SP1: Asus M2N68-AM PLUS - AMD Athlon II X4 620 (4x 2.6 GHz) - 2 GB Ram - SSL Duende Classic - SSL MX4
Windows 7 x64 SP1: Dell Latitude E6410 - Intel Core i7 - 8GB RAM - PreSonus FireStudio Mobile
Mac OS X 10.6.7: iMac 21,5" - Core i3 - 8GB Ram - PreSonus FireStudio Mobile

PreSonus Studio One Pro 1.6.4 || SSL SoundScape v6 || Pro Tools 9.0.2

AIR Users Blog NL
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:44 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,462
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

We've been running Pro Tools on W7/64 for 15 months now and would not consider going back to XP or any 32-bit OS.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2011, 03:54 PM
forgotteng forgotteng is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Windows XP vs. Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
We've been running Pro Tools on W7/64 for 15 months now and would not consider going back to XP or any 32-bit OS.
Tom what interface are you using. I am on a profire 2626 and have had issues. I am also running Waves V8 Mercury and A UAD1 and a UAD2 card. It is murderous getting everything to work together. I would love to get this working. Windows7 is definitely faster.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7 ryanjantz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2011 04:22 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM
running PT 8.0 in windows XP virtual machine on windows 7 Jenk2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 03-17-2010 08:45 PM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com