Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2007, 07:42 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,728
Default BUG: Canīt drag from workspace when locked

PT 7.3.1:

Symptom: When you try to drag a sound-file from the workspace onto a track that contains locked regions PT refuses to place the clip onto the track even when they donīt overlap.

Steps to reproduce:

-put a region onto a track.
-lock the region
-drag a sound from the workspace to the same track but before or behind the locked clip
- PT will tell you that "the command cannot be performed because it would affect regions that are locked" even if they do not overlap.

annoying work-around: first unlock the preceding region on the track before dragging.

please fix!

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2007, 09:50 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: BUG: Canīt drag from workspace when locked

I can't reproduce this given the steps you provided.

Can you give more info on the type of session - .bwf? .aiff?

Are the regions part of the same audio file?

Any other info that may be relevant is appreciated.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2007, 09:59 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: BUG: Canīt drag from workspace when locked

In my case the source is an interleaved stereo AIFF sitting on my Desktop. Iīm option-dragging to 2 mono-tracks. I can see the placeholder region when I drag but when I let go of the mouse the message comes up.

When I unlock the region on the track wich doesnīt belong to the file Iīm trying to add it works fine.


Session-Format is AIFF 24bit TC25fps

PT 7.3.1

OSX10.4.8

G5 dual 2.5Ghz

Session is on an internal SATA-drive.

Deleting the databases didnīt help.

thanks,

frank.


EDIT: I just tried it with a new empty session and it didnīt show the problem. Weird. Maybe something else that might be the problem? I cvan send you the session if you give me an adress.

EDIT #2: So now I went back to the original session and it didnīt happen anymore. Crazy. It happened every day during the last week and now that I reported the problem it went away. Great.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:04 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: BUG: Canīt drag from workspace when locked

Thank you for that - I can reproduce this now and will have it looked into.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:17 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: BUG: Canīt drag from workspace when locked

Quote:
Thank you for that - I can reproduce this now and will have it looked into.
Wow! Cool. So I wasnīt hallucinating. If you read my second edit that I wrote while you responded you will see what I mean.
So now it happens on your side but not here anymore.

Thanks for listening.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11.1.2 - Drag from workspace willeyh Pro Tools 11 3 02-03-2014 04:50 PM
drag from workspace is very slow breakie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 11-20-2006 03:07 PM
Drag & Drop locked regions bug (crosspost) Dan Pinder Post - Surround - Video 0 10-01-2006 06:59 PM
drag & drop and locked regions bug Dan Pinder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-29-2006 12:10 PM
PT Workspace: Drive LOCKED to "T"; not "R" Chris Nelson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 10-06-2005 02:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com