Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2018, 01:14 PM
onosendai onosendai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 90
Default Dark mode

Since Avid is working on making the coming 2018.10 compatible with Mojave, do you guys think we will get a dark mode option? I know on Windows it is in much need of a GUI update with its hideous Vista-colour framing all the UI elements.

It makes so much sense having dark mode compatibility for e.g post work where you spend a lot of time in darkened settings. It will eventually also cause less eye bleeding given that OS developers are finally embracing system wide dark mode.
__________________
i7 5820K, 32GB | Windows 10 Pro, PT 2019.12 Ultimate | RME FF802
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2018, 02:24 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,265
Default Re: Dark mode

let's hope for mojave support, but until the official word is out we don't really know
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2018, 06:21 PM
xylie6 xylie6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 97
Default Re: Dark mode

If I am running Reaper, it's in the Near Dark theme all the time now. Much more pleasant to use like that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2018, 07:08 PM
fredmant fredmant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 45
Default Re: Dark mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by onosendai View Post
Since Avid is working on making the coming 2018.10 compatible with Mojave, do you guys think we will get a dark mode option? I know on Windows it is in much need of a GUI update with its hideous Vista-colour framing all the UI elements.



It makes so much sense having dark mode compatibility for e.g post work where you spend a lot of time in darkened settings. It will eventually also cause less eye bleeding given that OS developers are finally embracing system wide dark mode.


I just lower the contrast lighting on my iMac screen with F2. It is soothing enough. Dark or black without lowering text also is more painful to me. Or is that what what you mean by Dark Mode?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:57 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,399
Default Re: Dark mode

I have to admit that I enjoy having dark mode on most of my phone apps and lately on some pages and desktop programs. Would be great to have that too in Pro Tools.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2018, 09:39 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Dark mode

Yep been in dark mode on Tapatalk for a few years now.....

I am not quite sure how much I would like it within a DAW
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2018, 09:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Dark mode

Be careful what you wish for. Dark Logic Pro was pretty bad...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2018, 01:17 AM
onosendai onosendai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 90
Default Re: Dark mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredmant View Post
I just lower the contrast lighting on my iMac screen with F2. It is soothing enough. Dark or black without lowering text also is more painful to me. Or is that what what you mean by Dark Mode?
That workaround makes it more pleasant agreed. What I mean is a colour palette like the "darker" mode options that e.g. Reaper and Reason offer. It makes it immenseley more comfortable to work in for long hours and in darkened setttings in a studio or at night.

OS Mojave (and W10, but they bungled it) now offers system wide Dark Mode where the interface; menus, finder, text etc. is drawn using hues of gray or close to black. They did a really good job and per usual they have made a lot of new apis and guidelines available so developers can use it to give their apps dark mode support.

In the future more apps will be aware of what "mode" the OS is in and make sure to apply a "dark mode" option (if it's supported and user checks it) so you won't be met with bright flashing UI and stark colours when switching/using an app.

Applications that don't support it will eventually stick out a lot on a dark mode system and make them less optically ergonimic whenever your eyes have to adapt back and forth.

Pro Tools is not the worst offender and it offers different colour customizations of e.g. tracks, but the overall body of colours and text are noticably bright, contrasty or white especially on windows.
__________________
i7 5820K, 32GB | Windows 10 Pro, PT 2019.12 Ultimate | RME FF802
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2018, 01:24 AM
onosendai onosendai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 90
Default Re: Dark mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Be careful what you wish for. Dark Logic Pro was pretty bad...
I'm not a Logic user, but it should of course be an option that a user can turn on and off or leave it so it changes depending on what your system is currently running.
Just dark mode makes as much sense as just having the status quo, because it will cause significant friction depending on your setting.
__________________
i7 5820K, 32GB | Windows 10 Pro, PT 2019.12 Ultimate | RME FF802
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2018, 03:56 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Dark mode

Please no, Pro tools has the best GUI of any daw in the world, period.

Almost every other DAW has been destroyed by these debilitating, overly busy dark on dark GUI's.

S1 was ruined in V3, Logic in X, Cubase in 9.. so sick of it.

If avid listens to this and does something like it, WITHOUT it being optional, i'll freak. This is what concerns me and why I always fight against it, cause there is no guarantee they'd leave the current GUI for people that love it as is.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
408 screen went dark shauli System 5 1 09-02-2018 02:44 PM
Grid mode, shuffle mode, spot mode and slip mode. RogTaylor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-24-2010 10:30 AM
I've come over from The Dark Side! Jon Dickinson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 12-11-2004 06:24 AM
Q: new to TDM/HD - a bit in the dark pk_hat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-19-2004 10:21 PM
What does one mean when they say a mic is dark? ixnys Tips & Tricks 12 10-22-2003 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com