Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2007, 08:38 PM
groovilator groovilator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 243
Default this is messed up

I was laying down some vox the other night on this techno thing. Part of it involved trying to replicate the "BT stutter", for which I was making several tiny little cuts in a region which took forever. I tried to save time by going to "mute" view and inserting breakpoints and then copying and pasting across the region. Not only did it not achieve the desired effect, but for some reason, after copying and pasting a few dozen breakpoints over a couple seconds of region, when I hit play, Pro Tools would automatically quit. This happened a few times and then I started getting some kind of error that prevented me from doing anything more in that session. So I created a new session and imported the tracks from the original session and continued recording with no problems. Then at some point, out of the blue, whenever I hit play I got a message saying Assertion in "Mdie_TrackPlayer.ccp", line 518. I was tired by that time and called it a night thinking I was just going to have to rebuild the session later. But now I find that the problem isn't just with that session, because I'm getting the same message no matter what session I try to play. Anybody else seen this error? I couldn't find anything on it when I searched the answerbase and the rest of the site with that phrase. This is messed up. I don't have time for this. Help is very much appreciated.

My specs:
Mbox 2 w/ LE 7.0 on a
Mac Mini PowerPC G4
OS X Tiger
1.25 GHz CPU
512 MB RAM
__________________
Nobody told me there'd be days like these .. .. .. strange days indeed .. .. ..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:04 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: this is messed up

kind of sounds like a corrupt audio file.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:39 PM
groovilator groovilator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 243
Default Re: this is messed up

You're right. It does sound like a corrupted file of some sort. But like I said, every session I open and try to play gives me the same error. My system runs really smoothly most of the time, this is my first major problem. The only other occasional problem I have is my CPU getting backed up because I really need more RAM, but that's no big deal.
The obvious question at the top of my mind is, do I need to reinstall? Or even upgrade? I just wanted to see if anyone else had seen this and can advise me before I do anything.
__________________
Nobody told me there'd be days like these .. .. .. strange days indeed .. .. ..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:33 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: this is messed up

Wasn't 7.0 a buggy version? I remember a lot of problems with the initial release.

Maybe you should clone your present 7.0 system to a backup, and give 7.1 a try. It's a free upgrade from 7.0.

Have you cleaned up your disks lately? If you're light on RAM it puts a lot of stress on your boot drive with swap file/VM activity when you run it hard. Not good on a Mini which has a slow internal drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:53 PM
groovilator groovilator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 243
Default Re: this is messed up

Aha. I've never done any disk cleaning as I am not primarily a Mac user. I know plenty about PC maintenance but I bought this minimac awhile back and really have only put it to limited use so far. In fact, I'm not sure disk cleaning would be terribly necessary at this point since it's a dedicated system that I haven't really done much with but, since ya bring it up, can you get me started on that process?
And perhaps you could clue me in on the cloning. I think I will try 7.1.
Thanks for you guys' help so far.
__________________
Nobody told me there'd be days like these .. .. .. strange days indeed .. .. ..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:19 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: this is messed up

Probably the best Mac drive cloning/backup utility:

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/

Also useful if you don't have access to a backup boot drive:

http://applejack.sourceforge.net/#top

You need to be booted from another drive to repair your internal drive with Disk Utility (Applications>Utilities), but you can repair permissions on the boot drive which is a start.

Also check the general troubleshooting thread at the top of the forum for Pro Tools specific suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2007, 08:33 AM
groovilator groovilator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 243
Default Re: this is messed up

still wondering if anyone else out there has experience with this error
thanks
__________________
Nobody told me there'd be days like these .. .. .. strange days indeed .. .. ..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 re-amp is messed up oNeKOG Eleven Rack 5 07-28-2013 08:08 PM
Have I messed up? nickmadsen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-26-2011 01:32 AM
EQ III is messed up wigglybeef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-25-2009 02:50 PM
Is my Mic messed up or what ??? Talent4God Post - Surround - Video 27 10-01-2006 07:03 PM
This DUC is messed!!! Michael Cottrell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 04-04-2002 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com