Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2020, 05:40 PM
GOOOTOOO GOOOTOOO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: LA
Posts: 62
Default Difference between "Midi Studio Setup", "Midi Input Devices", and "Midi Controllers"?

Previously I would just plug in and play midi devices. Now I'm trying to understand the deeper aspects of ProTools setup for midi devices, specifically the menu options listen in the post title.

1. Midi Input Devices - Seems to show the connected midi devices that ProTools recognizes
2. Midi Studio Setup - Seems to allow you to create a Midi device, but I don't understand what function this serves when "Midi Input Devices" is where you have your midi devices. And what are the send and receive channels for?
3. "Midi Controllers" under "Peripherals" - This also seems redundant in the same way as "Midi Studio Setup". I don't understand how this differs from your plain menu of midi input devices or why it is useful.

Are there any other settings for midi setup that I'm missing or should look into? Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2020, 08:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,035
Default Re: Difference between "Midi Studio Setup", "Midi Input Devices", and "Midi Controlle

1. Midi Input Devices - Seems to show the connected midi devices that ProTools recognizes Just a way to enable or disable connected midi devices( rarely even look at it)

2. Midi Studio Setup - Seems to allow you to create a Midi device, but I don't understand what function this serves when "Midi Input Devices" is where you have your midi devices. And what are the send and receive channels for? This is where you setup midi controllers for playing/recording midi information to "play" Virtual Instruments. You have multiple midi channels so you can have multiple midi instruments(like MiniGrand, EZdrummer, Kontact, Ivory, etc) where each VI(Virtual Instrument) can operate on its own midi channel.(Imagine the mess of sound if holding a chord on a midi keyboard made every instrument plugin play sounds all at once). Midi channels are available both for recording midi info(notes, sustain, pitch, etc) as well as multiple channels going out to different VI's or external hardware synths.
3. "Midi Controllers" under "Peripherals" - This also seems redundant in the same way as "Midi Studio Setup". I don't understand how this differs from your plain menu of midi input devices or why it is useful.This is where you would setup a midi controller that can also control Pro Tools(like a keyboard with PLAY, STOP, RECORD buttons).

So, what exactly are you wanting to do, and what midi device(controller) do you have?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2020, 09:45 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Re: Difference between "Midi Studio Setup", "Midi Input Devices", and "Midi Controlle

Quote:
Originally Posted by GOOOTOOO View Post
Previously I would just plug in and play midi devices. Now I'm trying to understand the deeper aspects of ProTools setup for midi devices, specifically the menu options listen in the post title.
And what are the send and receive channels for?
Hi there,
MIDI has 16 discrete channels of communication to and from devices (send and receive, or in and out) You can have multiple sets of 16 from different virtual ports. If you haven't quite grasped this, you may need to do a bit of research. It isn't difficult. Google is your friend!
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2020, 05:56 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,268
Default Re: Difference between "Midi Studio Setup", "Midi Input Devices", and "Midi Controlle

Quote:
Originally Posted by GOOOTOOO View Post
1. Midi Input Devices - Seems to show the connected midi devices that ProTools recognizes
2. Midi Studio Setup - Seems to allow you to create a Midi device, but I don't understand what function this serves when "Midi Input Devices" is where you have your midi devices. And what are the send and receive channels for?
3. "Midi Controllers" under "Peripherals" - This also seems redundant in the same way as "Midi Studio Setup". I don't understand how this differs from your plain menu of midi input devices or why it is useful.
1) You're correct there - shows available MIDI ports/devices. You can check which ones are available by session.

2)Allows you to further define a MIDI device - what channels it can send/receive on and other characteristics. Also where you connect 'patch lists' to external synths.

3) MIDI Controllers causes a lot of confusion. It probably should read MIDI Control Surfaces. This is where you select/define HUI and other devices that have faders and controls to aid in mixing. The Behringer XTouch line is a example of control surfaces.
__________________
PT 2021.7 DP 11.01 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2021.7 DP 11.01 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2020, 01:01 PM
GOOOTOOO GOOOTOOO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: LA
Posts: 62
Default Re: Difference between "Midi Studio Setup", "Midi Input Devices", and "Midi Controlle

Thank you for the replies, they were helpful. Does anyone know if it is possible to control an external midi device with an instrument track? To save the runaround of having an aux & Midi track and remember the settings you had on your external device.

Here is a video of a guy doing what I'm talking about in cubase:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...ture=emb_title
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2020, 01:23 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,268
Default Re: Difference between "Midi Studio Setup", "Midi Input Devices", and "Midi Controlle

You probably should print the external synth/sound module at some point. Try using a MIDI track and an audio track with the input monitor engaged rather than MIDI to aux. When you're ready to print, just record arm the audio track. You can use an instrument track for external gear - just select the correct MIDI and audio I/O (if you want to print, you'll still have to use an audio track).
__________________
PT 2021.7 DP 11.01 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2021.7 DP 11.01 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Digidesign Midi I/О" in "ProTools 10HD" in "OSX Maverics" electra1006 MIDI 0 06-18-2018 05:46 AM
Keyboard Shortcut for "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List" EdgarRothermich Pro Tools 12 2 10-04-2017 02:18 PM
PT 10.3.2 MIDI "Input devices" grayed out tooold macOS 3 02-23-2013 12:30 PM
002 rack "clicks" and Windows beeps when "Setting Up Midi" or sw0mgt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-03-2012 03:42 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com