Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2023, 04:27 PM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default clocking doesn't match sample rate

hey all,

i was sent a session that was clocked at a sample rate that doesn't match the session's sample rate, so the audio files are playing back slower than they should.

is there a quick fix within pro tools for this problem, or do i have to make a copy of the session at the clocked source's sample rate?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2023, 05:55 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

I've been there a couple of times, although it was years ago, but it's not very complicated. Basically you create a session with the sample rate it was clocked with, and import the audio files and deselect 'convert sample rate'. So even though they are 'stamped' 44.1, and you know they are effectively 48, they will play back correctly in the 48kHz session.

I don't know of any way to 'repair' the session. It might be possible, but this import trick is what I know.

If it's a session full of tracks with scattered clips, I guess you could consolidate all tracks from 0.000.00 in the session with the wrong speed, then do the import trick.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2023, 06:44 PM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

thank you for your reply. I tried a "save copy in" approach to change the session's sample rate. however, once I select the appropriate sample rate, the "convert to specified format" box is automatically checked. i'd rather not re-import the audio files without saving the session, since the session is pretty in depth as it is-hence the save copy in strategy.

i appreciate the help! if you have any other pointers for this problem, please let me know
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2023, 06:50 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

'Save copy in' won't work.
'Import audio' with 'convert audio sample rate' deselected in the import dialog box, will.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2023, 07:16 PM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2023, 04:36 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by zbtb122 View Post
thank you!
What happened?
Did you try my suggestions?
Please share.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2023, 06:10 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

To anyone who might be looking for answers to this type of issue now, or in the future, I'd like to expand a bit on what I think what is happening here.

When I experienced something like this a long time ago, the cause of it was recording stuff in a PT session set to one sample rate, and using a clock source (session setup) set to a different sample rate.

I think I got files with this problem from other people, but I guess I might have done it to myself also, because I often used a second converter connected via ADAT to expand my input count. I would create a 44.1 session (CDs were still around), set the clock source to ADAT (necessary for syncing the two converters), fail to notice that the external converter was running at 48kHz, and record away.

As long as the clock source was connected, the session would record and play back at 48, and no one would notice. If it was disconnected, or the clock source set to internal, the session would play at 44.1 and pitch and slow down. Also, if I tried to import the audio in other programs, it would play at the wrong speed because they were 'stamped' 44.1, having been recorded in a 44.1 session (but effectively at 48 because of the external clock.)

The solution is easy; I explained it above.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 02-18-2023 at 06:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2023, 07:48 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,359
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

Nice explanation… and yet the OP did not follow your very specific and accurate solution to their problem
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2023, 11:12 AM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

I followed the instructions-just didn't follow the explanation very well at first. once i understood, the solution worked perfectly! thank you for the help
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-18-2023, 12:20 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by zbtb122 View Post
I followed the instructions-just didn't follow the explanation very well at first. once i understood, the solution worked perfectly! thank you for the help
Glad I could help, and thanks for reporting back.
And welcome to the forum - also known as "the DUC".
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX and session sample rate and slaved clocking bluemoa Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 1 08-02-2022 11:58 AM
002 not clocking to correct sample rate for itunes and quicktime goaler111 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-08-2009 08:36 AM
Should Midi-Triggerred Samples match session sample rate? Zap Launcher MIDI 1 02-04-2008 08:06 AM
Please Help! Sample Rate/Clocking = Slow Motion... Amo Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-13-2005 04:48 AM
HD and sample rate conversion at 96K doesn't work syntheticrhyme Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-01-2002 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com