Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Old 01-11-2023, 02:25 AM

Default Crossfade not working

mac OS 12.6.2
M1 iMac 2021
Pro Tools 2022.12.0
Subscription

Hi all,

I have been a Pro Tool user since the days of Digidesign, and I am struggling to perform a simple crossfade between a dual mono (stereo) waveform. Command + F, which normally is the keyboard shortcut for create fade does nothing, despite keyboard focus enabled in edit view. The keyboard shortcuts menu has command + F as 'create fades', and under the focus column the checkbox is ticked. When this is ticked I then get this error message when using the command + F shortcut "That command could not be run at this time".

Has something changed with all these recent updates? Simple fades can be applied to the top and tails of waveforms, but if a break is made in the waveform for editing/processing purposes, I can't apply a crossfade.

Any suggestions?

Last edited by izthewiz; 01-14-2023 at 12:17 AM.
Old 01-11-2023, 05:06 AM

Default Re: Crossfade not working

If you use the smart tool in the bottom corner where the two clips meet, are you able to create a crossfade that way? Have you confirmed that there aren't already fades on the clips (very small ones can hide; zoom way in to check)?
* Soundtoys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* RME Fireface UCX II ~ Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Old 01-11-2023, 05:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
If you use the smart tool in the bottom corner where the two clips meet, are you able to create a crossfade that way? Have you confirmed that there aren't already fades on the clips (very small ones can hide; zoom way in to check)?
There are no small fades on any of the clips, they are normally just rendered/processed clips from Izotope RX.
Old 01-11-2023, 06:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by izthewiz View Post
mac OS 12.6.2
M1 MacBook Air 2021
Pro Tools 2022.12.0