Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2023, 12:03 PM
jschmit jschmit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 22
Default Alt 5.1 mix via HDMI?

I have a question about sending an additional 5.1 monitor output from our system. Currently we are running PT Ultimate with a MTRX Studio and a Mac Mini. Monitoring is configured using some of the analog outputs from the MTRX. We would also like to send the 5.1 mix out into the studio along with a video monitor output from the Mac mini via HDMI. Is it possible to set this up using the AUX I/O feature? The HDMI cable is running to an Extron podium system that has a surround processor that feeds speakers in that studio space. Iíve been told that the audio signal has to travel on that HDMI cable to get into the Extron system. They havenít provided any other way to bring it in.

Iíve done this with my laptop with a stereo signal using PT Studio. The system with the MTRX involves DADman and a 5.1 mix and thus Iím not sure if itís as simple.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2023, 07:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,298
Default Re: Alt 5.1 mix via HDMI?

Sending digital surround means you need to encode it on your alt.master (not sending discrete channels)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2023, 09:14 PM
Dizaineris Dizaineris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Alt 5.1 mix via HDMI?

Heres a possible solution.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...pecs/W-DLUS-13


Then use Aux I/O to setup another set of outputs routed to Blackmagic device

HDMI Audio Outputs 8 Channels embedded in SD/HD












Quote:
Originally Posted by jschmit View Post
I have a question about sending an additional 5.1 monitor output from our system. Currently we are running PT Ultimate with a MTRX Studio and a Mac Mini. Monitoring is configured using some of the analog outputs from the MTRX. We would also like to send the 5.1 mix out into the studio along with a video monitor output from the Mac mini via HDMI. Is it possible to set this up using the AUX I/O feature? The HDMI cable is running to an Extron podium system that has a surround processor that feeds speakers in that studio space. Iíve been told that the audio signal has to travel on that HDMI cable to get into the Extron system. They havenít provided any other way to bring it in.

Iíve done this with my laptop with a stereo signal using PT Studio. The system with the MTRX involves DADman and a 5.1 mix and thus Iím not sure if itís as simple.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB-HDMI adapters???? albee1952 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 14 10-17-2013 06:33 AM
anyone have any experience with Arvus HDMI-2a HDMI to 8 ch AES Craig F Post - Surround - Video 0 12-17-2012 04:24 PM
wireless HDMI Craig F Post - Surround - Video 2 04-20-2011 11:51 AM
USB to HDMI lode Post - Surround - Video 5 11-17-2008 12:00 AM
Asus m3n-hd hdmi ??? halipino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 08-01-2008 10:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com