Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #881  
Old 07-17-2022, 02:44 AM
vaggelis.mak vaggelis.mak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Carnes View Post
I've had my Ultra for a week now and not heard a peep. Haven't had to push it hard yet (RX is my metric), but for basic mixing it's been really quiet. If you're hearing yours, then you should definitely get in touch with Apple.
Mine is also really quite, I can barely hear the fans even when I'm pushing it. So its not the fans my problem. even when its in 1300rpm you can hear sometimes a high frequency (around to 2.5khz) which is not really pleasant. Sometimes I have to put my head really close to hear that frequency but still I feel it shouldn't be there. I will try to upload a screenshot or a video to share it with you. And yeah maybe I will call the place that I bought it to see what they can do.
Reply With Quote
  #882  
Old 07-17-2022, 04:05 AM
vaggelis.mak vaggelis.mak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Here is a video of the sound. I put it in RX to be able to see exactly the frequency.

https://youtu.be/4CHlDFz297c
Reply With Quote
  #883  
Old 07-17-2022, 11:01 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 612
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

My old ears cannot hear a thing
B
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. 2 x 29.3 Ghz 6 core Intel Xeon PT 2019.10. Mac OS 10.12.6. and 10.14 RME UFX and a bunch of other nice stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #884  
Old 07-18-2022, 01:55 PM
kindkind kindkind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 206
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

I have an m1 max studio and it whines. I believe there are some maxes that do and some that dont. Mine is an annoying, irritating sound that i can hear from over 10 feet away, when the room is quiet, but not silent. Luckily i have it set up very very far away from the recording space. I tweaked the fan rpms down and it helped a bit. Probably going to dump this computer once mac mini m2 pro comes out.
__________________
Mac Studio M1 Max, 32gb, 2021.12 ultimate, HDNTB, Aurora 16 LTHD
Reply With Quote
  #885  
Old 07-18-2022, 02:38 PM
vaggelis.mak vaggelis.mak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Yeah but this is really annoy me. The fact that you buy that machine and you have to place it many meters away to be able to work. Personally when my room is really quite during at night it can drive me crazy. During the day I can’t really hear it because the background noise is higher. I’m afraid that it will be difficult to find a Max that won’t make that high pitched noise.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Recording Studio FOR SALE! Pro Toold Hd2 Accel, C24, Apple, Mogami, etc... sketchellis Buy & Sell 15 05-06-2013 06:27 PM
apple-m "mute region" clash with finder apple-m "minimize" wez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-12-2007 05:19 AM
2 Power-Mac's on 1 Apple Studio Display? Optimus Prime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-02-2004 01:11 PM
Has anyone had this problem with their Apple Studio Display? peter parker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-29-2002 12:55 AM
Please advise on best setting on Apple Studio Display LCD Flatscreens - going blind! Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-05-2001 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com