Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2003, 07:36 PM
dbrunell dbrunell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 193
Default Can\'t Open PTLE 6.1.1 Session in Pro Tools Free..

I have saved part of one of my PTLE 6.1.1 sessions using the 'Save Session Copy In..' function, and exporting audio regions as files. I burned the session files to a CD-R. I can open the resulting session from the CD in PTLE 6.1.1, but I wanted to be able to give the copy of this session to one of my bandmates, who has downloaded Pro Tools Free.

As a test, I set up Pro Tools Free on a separate computer, and attempted to open the PTLE session in PT Free, I get the error "This is not a valid Pro Tools session file." I noticed that the Pro Tools session file did not have the proper icon; it had the type of Windows icon for a file without any app association.

I haven't seen any info in the DUC or on the LBTE on any incompatibilities between PTLE and Pro Tools Free. Anybody know how I can get past this error and open my session in PT Free?

Thanks,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2003, 07:38 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Can\'t Open PTLE 6.1.1 Session in Pro Tools Free..

Pro Tools Free is at version 5.0 -- you'd need to save the session as a 5.0 session using Save Session Copy In...

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2003, 07:55 PM
dbrunell dbrunell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 193
Default Re: Can\'t Open PTLE 6.1.1 Session in Pro Tools Free..

DOH!! Thanks Rail, I had forgotten about that- .pt5 files instead of .pts for PT Free.

db
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Free Session with Protools 6 and up Dog BBQ Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 07-28-2006 09:47 PM
can't open new session of Protools free Mattingly Digidesign Hardware & Software 11 01-16-2004 08:16 AM
PT free won't open a PT 5.1LE session.... Steve Woodford Digidesign Hardware & Software 5 11-08-2002 12:20 AM
open mac tdm session in PTle 5.3 ustrata 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-22-2002 02:01 PM
open an le session in free??? suyenfung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-20-2002 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com