Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2002, 03:23 PM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Palmer cab. simulators?????

Superdood,

I once embarked on a long mission to get a great direct sound that would A/B well with my favorite rock & roll CD's.

This is what I've owned:

POD
POD Pro
SansAmp PSA-1
SansAmp GT
SansAmp Plugin
Palmer Speaker Load Box (yes, the one EVH uses)
H & K Tubeman
Marshall JMP-1
Rocktron Chameleon
Rocktron Prophesy

This is what I use now:

• 1967 Fender Deluxe Reverb
• Marshall JCM-800 #2204

And a few stomp boxes including an 808 Tubescreamer.

I still use my POD everyday for writing and some overdubs, but my main tracks are done with the amps.

I'd say to experiment all you want, and if you hit direct gold - let me know. But keep in mind, lot's of those guys you read about using direct input, could be tracking to 2", with the benefit of tape color, and saturation to help sweeten their sound - something you won't find in a 001.

Good luck with your search.

That's my story. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2002, 12:46 AM
superdood superdood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: portland, or
Posts: 130
Default Palmer cab. simulators?????

Hi, I've heard good things about the palmer cab simulators and that Satriani used them a lot recently. Do any of you know from experience if the Pga-04 is the one to get or is it the older model? Supposedly the circuitry in the 04 contains the exact same as that in the older model, but with added control. Is that the case or does this added control come at the sacrifice of some tone??? I'm gonna get one. I just wanna get the right one. If it matters, I play a VHT amp with a fairly heavy gain setting and would be going straight to an apogee a/d. I appreciate any and all feedback. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2002, 06:55 PM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: Palmer cab. simulators?????

Call TechStar in Nashville- they'll know everything about Palmers.
615-242-2925
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Palmer Speaker Simulator jack s. Eleven Rack 0 12-25-2012 08:53 PM
R.I.P Robert Palmer bassbuddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-27-2003 05:16 PM
Say it isnt so.... Rober Palmer..... silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-26-2003 10:10 AM
Palmer cab simulator question superdood General Discussion 1 11-05-2002 09:07 AM
Palmer PGA-04 (DI for guitar AMP) Jim S General Discussion 10 06-28-2001 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com