Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2003, 11:18 AM
scottyplayero scottyplayero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pompano Beach Florida
Posts: 27
Default Recording more than 8 simultaneous channels?

I have a 001 and need to record 11 live tracks. Does anyone have experience using all 8 analog inputs plus the ADAT optical inputs at the same time? I was thinking that I could purchase a firewire D/A with ADAT optical out and route it through the 001 to allow up to 16 tracks of simultaneous recording.

I can't find any mention of it in the Digidesign documentation.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2003, 11:24 AM
archtop archtop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Stanwood Wa.
Posts: 422
Default Re: Recording more than 8 simultaneous channels?

Yes work's well
It's the only way you can get 18 in(2 s/pdif)
I Use the lucid 8824
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2003, 11:28 AM
John Giblin John Giblin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default Re: Recording more than 8 simultaneous channels?

The mbox and LE...can anyone tell me why a(quasi) professional company like Digidesign would pass off a program like LE as pro-compatible, knowing (and keeping it quiet)that you have to re-align EACH TRACK by 164 samples EVERY TIME YOU RECORD......or is it that I'm just missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2003, 02:58 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 860
Default Re: Recording more than 8 simultaneous channels?

John-I think it is just the nature of digital recording. I don't generally slide parts unless it sounds off. I recommend overdubbing to the same first basic track, so there are no cumulative delays. I record drums first, and everything gets tracked to the drums, so all the parts are in sync, they are just all off (together) 164 samples or whatever. Do you realize that is only about 3 milliseconds? Can you hear a 3/1000 sec delay????

Overhead mics are off at least that much from the internal kick mic, even on tape, and they sound good that way. Do you also slide your overhead tracks? Tough to do with tape. What about room mics? They are further delayed than that just because of distance. If it sounds good, leave it alone. If it bothers you, slide them.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2003, 03:16 PM
nukmusic nukmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: new orleans, la
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: Recording more than 8 simultaneous channels?

Quote:
Originally posted by John Giblin:
The mbox and LE...can anyone tell me why a(quasi) professional company like Digidesign would pass off a program like LE as pro-compatible, knowing (and keeping it quiet)that you have to re-align EACH TRACK by 164 samples EVERY TIME YOU RECORD......or is it that I'm just missing something?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hey??? I thought I read that PT does an automatic adjustment once to stop recording???? I may be wrong.
__________________
Docta'J

Download free music at
http://www.nukmusic.com
nEVER uNDERESTIMATE kNOWLEDGE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simultaneous recording with multiple midi channels miikkajk MIDI 3 07-17-2012 10:44 PM
Upgrading to 16 channels of simultaneous I/O ostmcaleb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 04-21-2007 01:05 AM
simultaneous recording..........Please help me! gibson_rules63 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 07-31-2005 07:25 AM
how do i record simultaneous channels with mbox? sethbrand Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 06-18-2005 01:52 AM
how do i record simultaneous channels with mbox? sethbrand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-17-2005 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com