Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2006, 06:52 PM
NZDingo NZDingo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23
Default Protools LE transport - external control via MMC?

Hi,

Does anyone know if you can setup protools LE so that it will receive tape transport control messages from an external midi device. I've got an M-Audio Axiom61 keyboard which has the standard transport controls ie stop, play rewind etc buttons. I'm wanting to see if I can set it up to trigger the protools transport.

Appreciate any ideas.
NZDingo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2006, 08:13 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Protools LE transport - external control via M

Read appendix A of the MIDI Control Surfaces Guide.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2006, 04:19 PM
NZDingo NZDingo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23
Default Re: Protools LE transport - external control via M

Thanks spkguitar. Read through that and it didn't really help me that much.

Under setup/peripherals/machine control I have the USB Axiom Midi output selected.

That's the only place I can see in protools to configure this and still no joy getting the transport to start from the external controls.

Sigh.. I think I'm dumb.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2006, 07:47 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Protools LE transport - external control via M

Try reading my Tutorial on using the Ozonic as a control surface in Pro Tools. It is taken directly from that manual that I just linked you to (as well as a post from another DUC user who did the same thing...)

The procedure should be almost identical for the Axiom, seeing as how the Axiom is also an MAudio product.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2006, 04:00 AM
NZDingo NZDingo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23
Default Re: Protools LE transport - external control via M

Fantastic, works a treat. I just downloaded the xml file he had for Enigma and programmed the axiom as per his instructions (Axiom is almost identical to program as the Ozonic). Set protools to the CS10 and away she went.

Thanks heaps spkguitar.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control external midi devices from Protools Dozerbabar MIDI 2 01-02-2011 03:24 AM
external control transport for PtoTools LE pickerdd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 04-08-2009 09:29 AM
axiom 25- transport control of protools Tomy DeClerque MIDI 0 06-05-2006 05:26 AM
Transport Control to Turn on/off External Lamp menotyou ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 11-01-2004 08:59 AM
external midi transport victhrill General Discussion 1 09-25-2004 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com